Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Our Collections

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections supports the mission of the University of Wyoming Libraries to provide information resources and services to meet the instructional, research, and outreach needs of UW Students, faculty and staff. It also serves the research needs of Wyoming citizens, as well as researchers from around the world. There are more than 50,000 published items located within Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections, primarily related to Wyoming's history and culture as well as published University information. Formats in special collections include administrative materials and records, audio recordings, The Branding Iron (student newspaper), books, bulletins and catalogs, film, maps, research reports, WYO (student yearbook), and video.

Find Materials

Search for:
Search in:
  Submit

About Our Collections

Michael Canoso Miniature Book Collection, Collection 67839917

Donated in 2007 by Michael Canoso, this collection includes books smaller than 3 inches by 3 inches as well as a selection of artists' books, some pieces of which date from as early as 1830. A variety of subjects are represented; with common topics including alphabet books, fairy tales, poetry, religion, and works by Shakespeare.

Cheramy Native American Collection, Collection 67839949

This collection was donated by Ed and Shirley Cheramy of Jackson, Wyoming in 2008. It is split between the Toppan Library of the American Heritage Center and Special Collections. The collection details American Plains Indian history from the 19th and 20th centuries, focusing primarily on the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes. Published works that make up the collection are books, articles, and government publications.

Far West Library of Howard H. Hays, Collection 67839979

In 2016 the personal western library of Howard H. Hays was donated to the Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections at University of Wyoming Libraries, facilitated by his granddaughter, Sarah Hays. This collection reflects Hays' interest in the American West and the regions in which his businesses operated. Works within this collection, coupled with materials at American Heritage Center, provide a great resource for history on early National Park Service Concessions. 

Grace Raymond Hebard Collection, Collection 67840034

The Grace Raymond Hebard Collection is considered to be the most comprehensive collection of published materials about Wyoming history, culture and natural history. It is the library of record for University of Wyoming publications. With more than 50,000 cataloged titles, this collection helps to document the history and culture of Wyoming and the region through the acquisition, preservation, and provided access of these unique materials.

Hebard Historic Map Collection, Collection 67840063

The Hebard Historic Map Collection is primarily a collection of published maps about Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain West.

Historic Clothing Collection, Collection 67840081

Consisting of both books and clothing magazines, the historic clothing collection also includes books on costumes and the history of undergarments, a limited range of Sears Roebuck and Company Catalogs and Montgomery Ward Catalogs largely from the late 1940's and the 1950's, in addition to vintage fabric guides with fabric swatches.

Ravage Collection, Collection 67840170

The items in the Ravage Collection were donated by Professor Emeritus John "Jack" W. Ravage who worked in the University of Wyoming Department of Journalism and Communication from 1973-2000. Ravage's donation consists of books that he used as part of his research, primarily related to the African American history and experience of the West. This collection complements Dr. Ravage's papers, located at the American Heritage Center. 

University of Wyoming Wool Lab Library, Collection 67840179

The UW Wool Laboratory Collection consists of wool samples, books, published articles, correspondence, and data associated with the UW Wool Laboratory which operated from 1907-2012. There are over 1,000 titles relating to sheep and wool in the collection; including the WT Ritch Library, which was donated in 1948 by a prominent Australian sheepman of the same name. The collection’s showpieces are the 872 preserved wool samples dating back to 1830. Records deal largely with Wyoming and the Western United States, although there are books and articles from around the world -particularly Australia and Scotland. Helping to document the history and culture of sheepherding in Wyoming and the West, this collection also contextualizes the importance of the UW Wool Laboratory to Wyoming and the world.

W.R. Coe Collection, Collection 67840191

William Robertson Coe bequeathed around $4 million dollars to the University of Wyoming between 1951-1961. At the time, this was the largest donation the University of Wyoming had received. Therefore, with a large portion of this sum going towards the building of a new library that could hold a portion of Coe's large western history collection, the library was named in his honor. Special Collections is attempting to reunite that donation in this designated space. As items with his bookplate in them are found on the the shelves of Coe, they're transferred upstairs to join their fellows.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon