Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Home

Collection Guide

Profile Photo
Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections
Contact:
Fall Semester 2021 Hours

Available 9am-4pm by appointment. Click on Book a space.
Please call or email for further assistance.


Special Collections Research
Assistance Desk
(307) 766-2027
Room 309
Coe Library
University of Wyoming
(307) 766-2027

Find Books

Search for:
Search in:
  Submit

Welcome to Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections supports the mission of the University of Wyoming Libraries to provide information resources and services to meet the instructional, research, and outreach needs of UW Students, faculty and staff. It also serves the research needs of Wyoming citizens as well as researchers from around the world. There are more than 50,000 published items located within Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections primarily related to Wyoming's history and culture. Collections include:

General Special Collections

Materials held in the general special collections include items deemed to be of high value, possibly rare, but that do not fall under the collection guidelines of the Toppan Rare Books Library. These materials have been donated and collected throughout the University libraries history; and encompass a wide variety of subjects, national and international in scope.

Published University of Wyoming Archives

Both Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections and the American Heritage Center collect information about and from the University of Wyoming to support research and teaching, as well as course work. While Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections collects and makes available published UW information, the American Heritage Center serves as the repository for unpublished University Archives. Formats in special collections include bulletins and catalogs, research reports, administrative materials and records, The Branding Iron (student newspaper), WYO (student yearbook), books, film, video, audio recordings, and maps

Search the library catalog for UW publications. 

Who was Emmett D. Chisum?

             

Emmett D. Chisum (1918 - 2009) was born in Sicily Island, Louisiana, but lived most of his life in Laramie, Wyoming.

He earned two master's degrees from the University of Wyoming - one in political science and the other in history. He worked for both UW Libraries and the American heritage Center, and earned the title of Professor Emeritus. Mr. Chisum was married to Geneva DeWolf who passed away in 2007.

Mr. Chisum had a variety of interests and was a prolific researcher. He published articles and guides on education, literature, UW history, and notable Wyoming individuals. His historical writings include The Influence of Wyoming Governors' Message on Legislation 1890-1939, Wyoming Football 1893-1947, and Memories: University of Wyoming Centennial 1886-1986.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon