LibGuides: Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Getting Started

Contact Information

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

Room 309, Coe Library
University of Wyoming
(307) 766-2027

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

Our Collections

Check out our snazzy new homepage!

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections supports the mission of the University of Wyoming Libraries to provide information resources and services to meet the instructional, research, and outreach needs of UW Students, faculty, and staff. It also serves the research needs of Wyoming citizens as well as researchers from around the world. There are more than 90,000 published items located within Chisum Special Collections primarily related to Wyoming's history and culture.

Collections include:

Canoso Miniature Book Collection
Cheramy Native American Collection
Far West Library of Howard H. Hays
Grace Raymond Hebard Collection
Hebard Historic Map Collection
Historic Clothing Collection
Ravage Collection
University of Wyoming Wool Lab Library
W.R. Coe Collection
General Special Collections
Materials held in the general special collections include items deemed to be of high value, possibly rare, but that do not fall under the collection guidelines of the Toppan Rare Books Library at the American Heritage Center. These materials have been donated and collected throughout the University libraries history; and encompass a wide variety of subjects through a national and international in scope.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Digitized Items & AHC Archives

American Heritage Center

Both Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections and the American Heritage Center collect information about and from the University of Wyoming to support research and teaching, as well as course work. While Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections collects and makes available published UW information, the American Heritage Center serves as the repository for unpublished university archives.

Formats in special collections include bulletins and catalogs, research reports, administrative materials and records, The Branding Iron (student newspaper), WYO (student yearbook), books, film, video, audio recordings, and maps.

Citation & Style Guides

Who was Emmett D. Chisum?

Emmett D. Chisum (1918 - 2009) was born in Sicily Island, Louisiana, but lived most of his life in Laramie, Wyoming.

He earned two master's degrees from the University of Wyoming - one in political science and the other in history. He worked for both UW Libraries and American Heritage Center, and earned the title of Professor Emeritus. Mr. Chisum was married to Geneva DeWolf who passed away in 2007.

Mr. Chisum had a variety of interests and was a prolific researcher. He published articles and guides on education, literature, UW history, and notable Wyoming individuals. His historical writings include: The Influence of Wyoming Governors' Message on Legislation 1890-1939, Memories: University of Wyoming Centennial 1886-1986, and Wyoming Football 1893-1947.