Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Historic Clothing

About the Historic Clothing Collection

Consisting of both books and clothing magazines, the historic clothing collection includes such magazines as The Ladies Home Journal and Munsey's along with books on costumes and the history of undergarments. Also included in the collection are a limited range of Sears Roebuck and Company Catalogs and Montgomery Ward Catalogs largely from the late 1940's and the 1950's, in addition to vintage fabric guides with fabric swatches.

Collection Examples:

Historic Clothing Books

The Influence of Clothing

"There is much to support the view that it is clothes that wear us and not we them; we may make them take the mould of arm or breast, but they would mould our hearts, our brains, our tongues to their liking."

--Virginia Woolf
Orlando: A Biography

Historic Clothing Collection

Jocks and nerds: men's style in the twentieth century by Richard Martin, Harold Koda (Page 87)

Jocks and nerds: men's style in the twentieth century by Richard Martin, Harold Koda (Page 8)

Spadea Patterns; Tissus Renel: pour la haute couture

Spring and Summer Suit Fabric Samples and Illustration (Pages 6-7)

Coat Pattern Illustrations (Page 21)

The Delineator

The Delineator

The Delineator

The Delineator

Hat & Cap Line

Hat & Cap Line

McCall's Magazine

McCall's Magazine

Montgomery Ward Catalogue

Montgomery War Catalogue

Orange colored yarn samples

Godey's lady's book

The ladies' home journal, 1911

The New Lace-Trimmed Jabot by Caroline Perry

The Delineator, 1903

The Delineator, 1903

Collection Search

To find relevant resources, try using content-specific keywords in combination with "Historic Clothing Collection".

Examples:

  • Costume
  • Magazine
  • Textile

If you need additional help with keywords, please contact our team of research librarians at chisumrr@uwyo.edu.


Search the Historic Clothing Collection

Historic Clothing Resource Links

Resource Links:

Related Podcasts:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon