Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Cheramy

About the Cheramy Native American Collection

This collection was donated by Ed and Shirley Cheramy of Jackson, Wyoming in 2008. Split between the Toppan Library of the American Heritage Center and Special Collections, the collection includes published works (books, articles, and government publications) that detail American Indian history from the 19th and 20th centuries. Much of the material relates to the history of the Plains Indians, with a strong focus on the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes.

Collection Examples

Cheramy Collection

And on the open plains the stage would race to safety within the corral of wagons and immigrant train had drawn up for its own defense.

Famous Western photographer William Henry Jackson outside his tent near the railroad track in Echo Canyon waiting to trade a picture of the railway crew for passage to his next destination.

The girl sitting side-saddle is Emilie Painter. The others in the group were not identified by Jackson.

Journeying to Loup Fork, Nebraska, north of Grand Island, Jackson photographed a gathering of Pawnee chiefs assembled for a Council at the Agency.

San Ildefonso Pueblo Wedding Vase, c. 1910 Black-on-red, Height 12 inches, Courtesy Morning Star Gallery, Santa Fe, New Mexico, Photography by Addison Dory

A Moqui house belonging to the Captain of Shongopovi.

Helen, Hopi, 1909, Arizona. Fred Harvey Collection.

Zia Pueblo Polychrome Storage Jar "Tinaja", c. 1925 19x22 inches National Museum of the American Indian Smithsonian Institution

Yurok men in Jump Dance attire, 1923. Klamath River, Humboldt County, California. Photo by Grace Nicholson.

Kiowa children on horseback preparing for a parade. Anadarko, Oklahoma. E. M. Roff Collection

Blackfoot or Absaroke (Crow) girls, ca. 1910. Montana. Photo by Fred R. Meyer.

Taken high in the Marshall Pass in 1882, the author of the present volume is shown (William H. Jackson), seated on the rear platform of the coach. Above him, standing, is his mother.

Yokuts Polychrome Gambling Tray, c. 1920 Willow, bracken fern and redbud, Diameter 26 inches, Courtesy of Morning Star Gallery, Sante Fe, New Mexico, Photography by Addison Dory

Collection Search

To find relevant resources, try using content-specific keywords in combination with "Cheramy Collection".

Examples:

  • Art
  • Battle
  • Cheyenne
  • Custer
  • Navajo
  • Plains
  • Sioux
  • Southwest
  • Textile
  • Weaving
  • West

If you need additional help with keywords, please contact our team of research librarians at chisumrr@uwyo.edu.


Search the Cheramy Collection

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon