Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Grace Raymond Hebard

Note About the Collection

"The Hebard Collection is a major research collection of national importance that provides essential service for scholars working in the history and culture of Wyoming and the Mountain Plains West."

--George Miles, Curator
Western Americana Library
Beinecke Library, Yale University

Find Books

Search for:
Search in:
 

Submit

About the Grace Raymond Hebard Collection

The Grace Raymond Hebard Collection is considered to be the most comprehensive collection of published materials about Wyoming history, culture and natural history. It is the library of record for University of Wyoming publications. This collection, holding more than 50,000 cataloged titles; helps to document the history and culture of Wyoming and the region by collecting, preserving, and providing access to unique, rare or valuable books, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, games, state and federal documents, and videos and DVDs.

Hebard Room History

Librarian Reba Davis (1919-1929) designated a Hebard Room in the then-new University Library Building (now the Aven Nelson Building) in 1924. Named in honor of Librarian Emeritus and historian, Grace Raymond Hebard, this space housed a small, but growing book collection on Wyoming history. Much of the original material in the collection was collected and preserved by Dr. Hebard, including a complete file of University of Wyoming Original Hebard Room publications; as complete a file of Wyoming State publications as possible; and books on Wyoming and Western U.S. history. 

The will of Dr. Hebard, who died October 11, 1936, directed that all of her historical material-books, maps, photographs, and files-be donated to the University. The published materials were added to those already housed in the Hebard Room, while the manuscript materials became the basis for the University Archives, today known as the American Heritage Center.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon