US Military History: OIF / OEF / War on Terror

War on Terrorism 2001 2009

Afghan War, 2001 -

Iraq War, 2003-2011

Operation Enduring Freedom, 2001-

• Afghanistan (National Archives)
• Iraq War 2003 Web Archive (Library of Congress)

   

  Archive of Internet sites from 2003.
• The Iraq War Pt. I: The U.S. Prepares for Conflict, 2001 (National Security Archive)
• The Iraq War Pt. II: Was There Even a Decision?
• Iraq War Ten Years After (National Security Archive)
• Letters from Abbottabad: Bin Ladin Sidelined?
• Operation Enduring Freedom - Hot Documents
• Osama Bin Laden Documents (CNN)
• Veterans History Project Digital Archive, War on Terror
• Veterans History Project Digital Archive: Iraq War
• War in Iraq (National Archives)

"A Reading List of Modern War Stories" by Michiko Kukatani, New York Times.

"The Best Books on The Iraq War Recommended by Patrick Cockburn" from the Five Books website.

"15 Great Books about Iraq and Afghanistan" by Jesse Goolsby on The Daily Beast website.

• The Journal of American History 

  The Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.

• The American Historical Review 

  The American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.

• Reviews in American History 

  Reviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.

• American Quarterly 

  American Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.

• Journal of American Studies 

  The Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.

• The Journal of Military History 

  The Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.

This link will open a UW Libraries catalog page listing all the journals classified under the heading of "military history."