US Military History: Internet Resources

U.S. Civil War

• American Civil War Homepage

  A comprehensive meta-site providing links to the full text of many primary sources, including images and music files.
• U.S. Civil War Center

  A project of Louisiana State University, this organization promotes the study of the US Civil War from all perspectives. Large collection of links.
• Selected Civil War Photographs

  Part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection, a collection of over 1000 photographs from the Civil War. Most are from the Mathew B. Brady collection
• Civil War Battlefield Summaries

  Summaries of 384 Civil War battlefields; search by state or campaign.
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

  Sponsored by the National Park Service, this site includes a database of soldiers' and sailors' names and regimental histories.
• Civil War Women

  An archival collection of full text documents authored by women during the Civil War, including diaries, letters, and personal papers. Also provides links to other Civil War web sites.

   

World War I

• The Great War

  Based on the PBS series.
• World War I Document Archive

  From Brigham Young University, a directory of online primary documents pertaining to WWI.

   

World War II

• Regis University Center for the Study of War Experience

  Information about the research center, with video excerpts from interviews with veterans and summaries of other archived interviews.
• National WWII Museum

  Located in New Orleans, this museum includes exhibits on D-Day in Europe and military campaigns in the Pacific. Site includes frequently asked questions about D-Day and Pearl Harbor, along with images from the museum's collections. Also includes transcripts from an oral history project that recorded the experience of D-Day veterans.
• The Drop Zone Virtual Museum

  Oral history accounts of WWII from paratroopers and army rangers. Includes a "What's New" section to keep track of site updates.
• World War II: American Women's History Resource Guide

  A list of print and online resources related to women's roles during World War II. Primarily useful as a bibliography, but does include a few links to online collections of primary sources
• Cybrary of the Holocaust

  Expansive collection of photos, art, poems, and essays geared to educate and preserve memories of the Holocaust.
• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

  This Washington, D.C., memorial to Holocaust victims studies and documents the history of the genocide.
• Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War II

  From the National Archives and Records Administration, this site includes official documents and photographs related to the internment of Japanese Americans, and provides a list of links to other sites and online resources.
• German Propaganda Archive (Calvin College)

  Searchable and browseable collection of propaganda from Nazi Germany and East Germany.
• World War II Poster Database

  A comprehensive searchable collection of over 300 posters issued by U.S. federal agencies during WW II. A color printer is best for printing posters.

   

Vietnam War

• Vietnam War Bibliography

  Lists publications on the Tonkin Gulf Incidents, the Hue and My Lai massacres, public relations and the media, the antiwar movement, the ground war, the air war, Agent Orange, POW's, MIA's, fiction and documentary films.
• The American Experience: Vietnam Online

  A companion to Vietnam: A Television History, this site includes a timeline of events in the Vietnam War, personal narratives, and program notes from the television series.
• Women in Vietnam

  First-person accounts by and tributes to women who served in the Vietnam War. Also photo tours by and about women in the war, and links to online bibliographies.

Each branch of service in the US Armed Forces has a recommended reading list. Some are specific for certain fields, others for certain grades. Reading any of the recommended books will make you a better scholar and warrior.