LibGuides: US Military History: Korean War

Reference Books & Bibliographies

Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Jinwung Kim (Editor); Michael R. Nichols (Editor); Paul G. Pierpaoli (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor); Norman R. Zehr (Editor)
Call Number: DS918 .E53 2000
ISBN: 1576070298
Publication Date: 2000-06-28
American Decades, 1900-1999 by Manly; Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994 & Online
ISBN: 0810357224
Publication Date: 1996-03-26
The Korean War by Paul M. Edwards
Call Number: DS918 .E363 2003
ISBN: 9780810844797
Publication Date: 2003-01-09

Novels & Narrative Nonfiction

The bridges at Toko-ri by Michener, James A.
Call Number: PS 3525 .I19 B85 1953
Publication Date: 1953
The Frozen Hours by Jeff Shaara
Call Number: Request through Prospector
ISBN: 9780345549228
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Hold Back the Night by Pat Frank
Call Number: PS3511.R255 H6x
ISBN: 0062421816
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
Snow Ashes by Alyson Hagy
Call Number: PS3558.A32346 S669 2007
ISBN: 9781555974688
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The Coldest Night by Robert Olmstead
Call Number: PS3565.L67 C65 2012
ISBN: 9781616200435
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
If You Leave Me by Crystal Hana Kim
Call Number: PS3611.I45295 I35 2018
ISBN: 9780062645173
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
War Trash by Ha Jin
Call Number: PS3560.I6 W37 2005b
ISBN: 1400075793
Publication Date: 2005-05-10
Knife Song Korea by Richard Selzer
Call Number: PS3569.E585 K65 2009
ISBN: 9781438427614
Publication Date: 2009-07-09
The Long March by William Styron
Call Number: PZ4 .S938 Lo5
Publication Date: 1956

Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings

Korean War

Link to all "Korean War" specific subject listings

Recommended Scholarly Books

The Coldest Winter by David Halberstam
Call Number: DS919 .H35 2007
ISBN: 9781401300524
Publication Date: 2007-09-25
The Forgotten War by Clay Blair
Call Number: DS918 .B53 1987
ISBN: 0812916700
Publication Date: 1987-12-12
The Korean War by Max Hastings
Call Number: DS918 .H34 1987
ISBN: 0671528238
Publication Date: 1987-11-01
The Korean War by Myra Immell (Editor)
Call Number: DS918 .K5637 2011
ISBN: 9780737757941
Publication Date: 2011-08-10
The Korean War by Bruce Cumings
Call Number: DS918 .C75 2010
ISBN: 9780679643579
Publication Date: 2010-07-27
The Korean War by Burton I. Kaufman
Call Number: DS919 .K38 1997
ISBN: 0070341508
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
This Kind of War by T. R. Fehrenbach
Call Number: Order through Prospector
ISBN: 9781574883343
Publication Date: Originally published 1963

Primary Sources

Wilson Center Digital Archive of the Korean War
A collection of primary source documents related to the Korean War. Obtained largely from Russian archives, the documents include reports on Chinese and Soviet aid to North Korea, allegations that America used biological weapons, and the armistice. For more coverage of the Korean War on the Digital Archive, see the collections: Korean War Origins, 1945-1950; Korean War Armistice; China and the Korean War; and Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations.
more...less...
For a collections resource guide see The Korean War: Collections & Resources on DigitalArchive.org.
National Archives - Military Resources : Korean War
A list of resources useful to researchers and students.
Veteran's History Project: Korean War
Personal accounts, photos, letters, and recordings of American veterans of the Korean War
KOREAN WAR ORIGINS, 1945-1950
This collection of primary source documents sheds light on the question of "who started the Korean War?" For more coverage of the Korean War on the Digital Archive, see the collections: Korean War, 1950-1953; Korean War Armistice; China and the Korean War; and Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations.
more...less...
For a collections resource guide see The Korean War: Collections & Resources on DigitalArchive.org.
Baptism By Fire: CIA Analysis of the Korean War
more than 1,300 documents consisting of national estimates, intelligence memo, daily updates, and summaries of foreign media concerning developments on the Korean Peninsula during 1947 - 1954
Harry S. Truman Library & Museum : The Korean War and Its Origins
This collection focuses on the Korean War. The collection includes 275 documents totaling 1151 pages covering the years 1945 through 1953. Supporting materials include official documents and photographs.

Recommended Books on the Korean War

"8 Powerful Korean War Books that Capture the Conflict" by Xavier Piedra
Recommended readings from a posting to the website "The Archive." (published Jun 18, 2019).
"The best books on The Korean War recommended by Bruce Cumings"
Before Vietnam, America fought in the Korean War—but its role in that conflict has been far less examined. Award-winning historian Bruce Cumings talks about the misconceptions many people still hold, and how they distort our understanding of the current North Korean regime.
5 Unforgettable Books on the Korean War by Jessica Ferri
"The devastatingly bloody war deserves its place in history." By Jessica Ferri. Published Oct 13, 2017
"15 Of the Best Korean War Books Ever Published" by Mya Nunnally
On the Book Riot website. Published June 1, 2020.

Websites

Korean War
A guide from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
The U.S. Army in the Korean War Commemorative Website
A website from the US Army Center of Military History. Includes readable versions of the official US commemorative pamphlets and official history of the war.
more...less...
Pamphlets: "The Outbreak," "The UN Offensive," "The Chinese Intervention," "Restoring the Balance," and "Years of Stalemate."
Books "U.S. Army in the Korean War" : "Policy and Direction - The First Year" by Schnabel, "South to the Naktong, North to the Yalu" by Appleman, "Truce Tent and Fighting Front" by Hermes, and "Ebb and Flow, November 1950-July 1951" by Mossman.
Veteran's History Project : Korean War
Personal accounts, photos, letters, and recordings of American veterans of the Korean War

Bibliographic Databases & Journals

The Journal of American History

The Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.
The American Historical Review

The American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.
Reviews in American History

Reviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.
American Quarterly

American Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
Journal of American Studies

The Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
The Journal of Military History

The Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.