Overview
The United States' involvement in World War I began the ascension of the US as a world power. The UW Libraries, American Heritage Center (AHC), other academic institutions, government websites, and other websites provide researchers with a vast array of material.
Reference Books & Bibliographies
Bibliographic Guide to the Two World Wars by Call Number: D 421 .B3ISBN: 0859350134Publication Date: 1977-05-01- U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center's World War I holdings ... : in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of World War I by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015
- United States Marine Corps in the First World War : anthology, selected bibliography, and annotated order of battle by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2016
American Decades, 1900-1909 by Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994ISBN: 0810357224Publication Date: 1996-03-26
America and the Great War by Call Number: D570 .W34 2017ISBN: 9781620409824Publication Date: 2017-05-30
The Cambridge History of the First World War 3 Volume Hardback Set by Call Number: D521 .C36 2014ISBN: 9781107660588Publication Date: 2014-01-09
Novels & Narrative Nonfiction
All Quiet on the Western Front by Call Number: PT2635.E68 I664 2008ISBN: 9780791098301Publication Date: 2008-05-01
A Farewell to Arms by Call Number: PS3515.E37 F3 2003ISBN: 9780684801469Publication Date: 1995-06-01
The Return of the Soldier by Call Number: PR6045.E8 R4 2010ISBN: 1551115123Publication Date: 1918 (2010 reprint)
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
Recommended Scholarly Books
The Last Days of Innocence by Call Number: D570 .A46 1997ISBN: 0679418636Publication Date: 1997-03-18
The Great War and Modern Memory by Call Number: PR478.E8 F8ISBN: 0195019180Publication Date: 1975-07-24
100 days to Victory : How the Great War was Fought & Won by Call Number: D521 .D328 2013ISBN: 9781444763355Publication Date: 2013
Primary Sources
Recommended Reading Lists on WW1
The following links are to recommended books on the US Civil War.
- The best books on World War I recommended by Jonathan BoffIt's been 100 years since World War I ended, but there is still very little consensus about what caused it, or what its consequences were. Historian Jonathan Boff talks us through the latest books and best modern interpretations of World War I.
- World War I : Top 10 Books (Military.com)Recommendations from Military.com writer Tom Miller.
- The 17 Best Books on World War IFrom "ThoughtCompany."
- 14 Fascinating Books About the War to End All WarsBy Orrin Grey & Dave Adams
- 17 First World War books recommended by our military expertsThere are many books on World War I, covering everything from individual battles to the particular heroic deeds of soldiers faced with the horrors of modern warfare. Here our authors choose their favourite war memoirs and strategic military tomes which offer a better understanding of both the conflict and the lives impacted by it.
Websites
- The World War I Document ArchiveAn online resource from Brigham Young University Library.
- Library of Congress "Experiencing War -- World War I Remembered"A website provided by the Library of Congress recognizing the 100th anniversary of World War I.
- U.S. Army Heritage & Education CenterA library and archive at the US Army War College.
- Library of Congress World War I : A Resouce GuideThe Library’s collections contain a wide variety of materials related to the First World War (1914-18). This guide provides access to the Library’s digital collections, external websites, and a selected print bibliography related to the Great War.
- Library of Congress : World War IThe Library of Congress’ collections include posters, recordings, newspapers, sheet music, photographs, and veterans’ stories as well as publications, exhibitions, educational tools, and research guides related to World War I.
Bibliographic Databases & Journals
-
The Journal of American HistoryThe Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.
-
The American Historical ReviewThe American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.
-
Reviews in American HistoryReviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.
-
American QuarterlyAmerican Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
-
Journal of American StudiesThe Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
-
The Journal of Military HistoryThe Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.
Memoirs & Personal Journals
The American Heritage Center (AHC) at the University of Wyoming contains items related to WW1, including some personal memoirs. Contact the AHC at ahcref@uwyo.edu for more information.
The library catalog lists items held in the AHC. This link will display items identified using an advanced search using the keywords WW1 and World War 1.
The Library of Congress "Experiencing War - World War I Remembered" website provides information on diaries and memoirs of Americans who served in "The Great War."
The United States' late entry into WW1 somewhat limited the number of published memoirs when compared to soldiers of European nations. This link is to a few recommended memoirs at American Heritage magazine.
The following books are available through interlibrary loan:
John Lucy "There's a Devil in the Drum." Memoir of an Irish soldier.
Max Arthur : Forgotten Voices of the Great War : A History of World War I in the Words of the Men and Women Who Were There.
Government Documents
-
Answering the call : the U.S. Army Nurse Corps, 1917-1919 : a commemorative tribute to military nursing in World War ICall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2008Also at GOV DOCS D 114.2:N 93/4
-
Armageddon's lost lessons : combined arms operations in Allenby's Palestine campaign byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2005
-
Army Medical Department, 1865-1917 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1995Also at GOV DOCS D114.19:M46/865-917
-
Chemical warfare in World War I : the American experience, 1917-1918 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D110.9:10
-
Defeating the U-boat [electronic resource] : inventing antisubmarine warfare byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
-
Development of military night aviation to 1919 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 301.26/6:AV 5Publication Date: 1998
-
Dynamics of doctrine : the changes in German tactical doctrine during the First World War byCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS D 110.9:4Publication Date: 1981
-
Final report of Gen. John J. Pershing : Commander-in-Chief American Expeditionary ForcesCall Number: GOV DOCS W 1.2:P 58f
-
-
-
Joining the Great War, April 1917-April 1918 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Also at GOV DOCS D 114.7/6:J 66
-
-
Letters of Second Lieutenant Charles Wesley Chapman, Jr., December 19, 1894-May 3, 1918Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016Also at GOV DOCS D 301.26/6:C 36
-
Like a thunderbolt : the Lafayette Escadrille and the advent of American pursuit in World War I byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 301.82/7:L 13
-
-
Queenstown patrol, 1917 : the diary of commander Joseph Knefler Taussig, U.S. NavyCall Number: GOV DOCS D208.210:12
-
-
Shooting the front : allied aerial reconnaissance and photographic interpretation on the Western Front--World War I byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 5.202:R 24Publication Date: 2006
-
-
United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919Call Number: GOV DOCS D114.8: v.1-17
-
United States Marine Corps in the First World War : anthology, selected bibliography, and annotated order of battle byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
-
The United States Marine Corps in the World War byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:W 89/5/2014Publication Date: 2014
-
Women Marines in World War I byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1974Also at GOV DOCS D 214.13:W 84