US Military History: Desert Shield / Storm

Please submit any recommendations for novels or narrative non-fiction about Desert Shield and Desert Storm to coeref@uwyo.edu.

• Iran-Iraq War / First Persian Gulf War, 1980-1988

  "Collection of Iraqi documents translated and made available by the Conflict Records Research Center about the 1980 to 1988 conflict also known as the First Persian Gulf War." (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
• Operation Desert Storm: National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book

  Documents spanning 1974-1997 that document the background, events, and outcomes of Desert Storm. (National Security Archive, George Washington Univ.)
• Gulf War / Desert Storm Military Resources

  Links to a variety of collections providing photographs, statistics, national security directives, reports, and more. (National Archives)
• Saddam Hussein's Iraq

  Records (spanning 1978-2000) "from Saddam Hussein’s regime released by the Conflict Records Research Center. The collection contains a wide range of Iraqi government files including transcripts of high-level meetings, speeches by Saddam and senior officials, correspondence between ministries, and records of the Presidential Diwan." (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
• Gulf War 1990-1991: Video from the AP Archive
• Operation Desert Storm Stock Photos from Getty Images

You can help improve this guide by submitting any recommendations for books about the Gulf War / Desert Storm or links to articles about recommended reading.

• Conduct of the Persian Gulf War: Final Report to Congress
• Frontline: The Gulf War
• GulfLINK
• Gulf War (AP Archive Video)
• Iran-Iraq War (Wilson Center)
• Operation Desert Storm: Ten Years Later (National Security Archive)
• Saddam Hussein's Iraq (Wilson Center Digital Archive)

• The Journal of American History

  The Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.
• The American Historical Review

  The American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.
• Reviews in American History

  Reviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.
• American Quarterly

  American Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
• Journal of American Studies

  The Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
• The Journal of Military History

  The Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.

This link will open a UW Libraries catalog page listing all the journals classified under the heading of "military history."

• The 3D Marine Aircraft Wing in Desert Shield and Desert Storm by LeRoy D. Stearns

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:P 43/7

  ISBN: 0160501768

  Publication Date: 1999-11-18

• Airpower advantage : planning the Gulf War air campaign, 1989-1991 by Diane T. Putney

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 301.82/7:G 95

  Publication Date: 2004

• Airpower against an army : challenge and response in CENTAF's duel with the Republican Guard by William F. Andrews

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 301.26/6:AR 5/2

  Publication Date: 1998

• The battle of al-Khafji by Paul W. Westermeyer

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:AL 4

  Publication Date: 2008

• Certain victory : the US Army in the Gulf War by Robert H. Scales, Jr

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D101.2:G95

• Chronology of Defense Intelligence in the Gulf War : a research aid for analysts by Brian Shellum

  Call Number: Online

• Combat Service Support in Desert Shield and Desert Storm by Steven M. Zimmick

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:P 43/6

  ISBN: 0160499151

  Publication Date: 1999-03-25

   

  Conduct of the Persian Gulf War : final report to Congress 

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 1.2:P 43/2

  ISBN: 0160380944

  Publication Date: 19929-04

• From the Fulda Gap to Kuwait by Stephen P. Gehring

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D101.2:K96

  ISBN: 0160493854

  Publication Date: 1998-03-16

• Gulf War Air Power Survey

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D301.2:G95/2/v.1-3

• Gulf War illness and the health of Gulf War veterans : scientific findings and recommendations / Research Advisory Committee on Gulf War Veterans' Illnesses

  Call Number: Online and GOV DOCS VA 1.2:G 95/3

  Publication Date: 2008

• Heart of the storm : the genesis of the air campaign against Iraq by Richard T. Reynolds

  Call Number: Online & GOV DOCS D301.26/6:H35/V.1-

• Humanitarian operations in northern Iraq, 1991 with marines in Operation Provide Comfort by Ronald J. Brown

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D214.13:OP2

• Jayhawk! by Stephen A. Bourque

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:J 33/2002-2

  ISBN: 0160511283

  Publication Date: 2002-11-06

• Legacy in the sand : the United States Army Armament Munitions and Chemical Command in Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm by Kimberly K. Porter, Herbert P. LePore

  Call Number: GOV DOCS MICROFICHE D101.2:L52/2

• Liberating Kuwait by Paul W. Westermeyer

  Call Number: Online

  Publication Date: 2014

• Lucrative Targets by Perry D. Jamieson

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 301.82/7:K 96

  ISBN: 0160509580

  Publication Date: 2002-01-16

• Modernizing the king of battle, 1973-1991 by Boyd L. Dastrup

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:B 32/3

  Publication Date: 2003

• On target : organizing and executing the strategic air campaign against Iraq by Richard G. Davis

  Call Number: Online and GOV DOCS D 301.82/7:P 43

  Publication Date: 2002

• Presidential Advisory Committee on Gulf War Veterans' Illnesses Reports by Government Printing Office Staff

  Call Number: OV DOCS PR42.8:AD9/SPEC./RPT

  ISBN: 0160492858

  Publication Date: 1997-11-01

• Rangers in Iraq : Task Force Ranger, 2nd Batallion, 16th Infantry in the Persian Gulf War, 10 November 1990 to 12 May 1991 by Jay C. Mumford

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D101.2:R16/2

• Task Force 2-4 Cav--"first in, last out" : the history of the 2d Squadron, 4th Cavalry Regiment during Operation Desert Storm by Joseph C. Barto III

  Call Number: Online

  Publication Date: 1993

   

  U.S. Marines in the Persian Gulf, 1990-1991. Anthology and annotated bibliography by compiled by Charles D. Melson, Evelyn A. Englander, David A. Dawson.

  Call Number: D 214.13:P 43

  Publication Date: 1992

   

• U.S. Marines in the Persian Gulf, 1990-1991. With the 2d Marine Division in Desert Shield and Desert Storm by Dennis P. Mroczkowski

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D214.13:P43/3

• War in the Persian Gulf by Richard W. Stewart

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:P 43/3

  ISBN: 9780160858673

  Publication Date: 2010-07-15

   

   

   

   

  With Marine Forces Afloat in Desert Shield and Desert Storm / by Ronald J. Bown

  Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:P 43/5

  ISBN: 0160497655

  Publication Date: 1998

   

• Women in the military: deployment in the Persian Gulf War : report to the Secretary of Defense

  Call Number: Online & GOV DOCS MICROFICHE GA1.13:NSIAD-93-93