Overview
The Vietnam War was one of the United States' longest wars. The UW Libraries have many primary sources available for researchers, as does the UW American Heritage Center. Numerous government documents, scholarly books, and journal articles are available in print and digitally.
Reference Books & Bibliographies
The Wars in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1945-1982 by Call Number: DS 557.7 .B88 1984ISBN: 0874363101Publication Date: 1983-11-01- The Wars in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1945-1982 by Call Number: DS 557.7 .B88 1984ISBN: 0874363101Publication Date: 1983-11-01
- The Vietnam War in Literature by Call Number: PS228.V5 J37 1992ISBN: 0893566799Publication Date: 1992-10-01
The Columbia Guide to the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.5 .A54 2002 / Ebook also available.ISBN: 0231114923Publication Date: 2002-07-10
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781851099610Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Historical Dictionary of the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.7 .M63 2001ISBN: 9780810841833Publication Date: 2001-12-17
American Decades, 1900-1999 by Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994 & OnlineISBN: 0810357224Publication Date: 1996-03-26
Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.7 .S93 1995ISBN: 0395722233Publication Date: 1995-11-02
Novels & Narrative Nonfiction
The Sorrow of War by Call Number: PL4378.9.B37 N6513 1996ISBN: 1573225436Publication Date: 1996-04-01
We Were Soldiers Once... and Young by Call Number: DS557.8.I18 M66 1992ISBN: 0679411585Publication Date: 1992-10-20- The Short Timers by Call Number: PS3558 .A7233 S56 1980ISBN: 055313020XPublication Date: 1980Source for the film "Full Metal Jacket."
If I Die in a Combat Zone by Call Number: DS559.5 .O27 1999ISBN: 9780767904438Publication Date: 1999-09-01
The Things They Carried by Call Number: PS3565.B75 T48 1990ISBN: 039551598XPublication Date: 1990-03-01
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Media
- "The Vietnam War" by Ken Burns & Lynn NovickThis link opens the UW Libraries catalog listing the links to the DVDs and streaming media from PBS. The webpage also provides the link to the accompanying book published with the film.
Recommended Scholarly Books
- Hell in a very small place : the siege of Dien Bien Phu by Call Number: DS550 .F28Publication Date: 1967
- Fire in the Lake: The Vietnamese and the Americans in Vietnam by Call Number: DS 557 .A6 F53Publication Date: 1972
America's Longest War: the United States and Vietnam, 1950-1975 by Call Number: DS558 .H45 2014ISBN: 9780073513256Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Primary Sources
The following links are to bibliographic databases available through the UW Libraries, other libraries, and websites.
Recommended Websites
Bibliographic Databases & Journals
-
The Journal of American HistoryThe Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.
-
The American Historical ReviewThe American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.
-
Reviews in American HistoryReviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.
-
American QuarterlyAmerican Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
-
Journal of American StudiesThe Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
-
The Journal of Military HistoryThe Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.
Government Documents
Most of the items listed are available as print and ebook (Online).
-
Air base defense in the Republic of Vietnam, 1961-1973 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D301.2:Ai7/31/961-73
-
Bombing as a policy tool in Vietnam: effectiveness; a staff study based on the Pentagon Papers, study no. 5 byCall Number: GOV DOCS Y4.F76/2:V67/23Publication Date: 1972
-
-
Combat at close quarters : warfare on the rivers and canals of Vietnam byCall Number: D 221.2:V 67/3Publication Date: 2015
-
Death in the imperial city : U.S. Marines in the Battle for Hue, 31 January to 2 March 1968 byCall Number: D 214.511/3:H 87Publication Date: 2018
-
Dust off : Army aeromedical evacuation in Vietnam byCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS Microfiche D 114.2:D 94
-
End of the saga : the maritime evacuation of South Vietnam and Cambodia byCall Number: D 221.2:V 67/9Publication Date: 2017
-
Fifty shades of friction : combat climate, B-52 crews, and the Vietnam War byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
-
The first fight : U.S. Marines in Operation Starlite, August 1965 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015
-
Hill fights : the first battle of Khe Sanh, 1967 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 214.14/6:K 52Publication Date: 2017
-
Hill of angels : U.S. Marines and the Battle for Con Thien, 1967 to 1968 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 214.511/3:C 74Publication Date: 2016
-
Interservice rivalry and airpower in the Vietnam War byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 110.2:V 67/2ISBN: 9780160772764
-
Knowing the enemy : naval intelligence in Southeast Asia byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015
-
Mounted combat in Vietnam byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 101.74:C 73/4
-
-
-
Operation End Sweep : a history of minesweeping operations in North VietnamCall Number: GOV DOCS MICROFICHE D201.2:OP2
-
The path to war, U.S. Marine Corps operations in Southeast Asia 1961 to 1965 byCall Number: D 214.511/3:P 27Publication Date: 2014
-
Political-military rivalry for operational control in U.S. military actions: a soldier's perspective byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1998
-
Search and rescue in Southeast Asia byCall Number: GOV DOCS D301.82/7:SE1
-
-
Taking the offensive, October 1966-September 1967 byCall Number: D 114.7/5-3:V 67/6Publication Date: 2016
-
U.S. Marines in Vietnam : the landing and the buildup, 1965 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D214.13:V67/965
-
War in the northern provinces, 1966-1968 byCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS D 101.74:N81p/966-68Publication Date: 1975
-
War in the shallows : U.S. Navy coastal and riverine warfare in Vietnam, 1965-1968 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015
Memoirs & Personal Journals
Three Wars of Lt. Gen. George E. Stratemeyer by Call Number: GOV DOC D 301.82/7:K 84/2ISBN: 0160501067Publication Date: 1999-10-15
