Overview
The post-civil war period saw many conflicts in the continental United States and overseas. The ongoing military campaigns against the Native Americans living in the Western United States were the primary conflicts, but at the end of the 19th century the United States waged war against Spain. This war can be said to be the first steps in the United States becoming a world power. The resources of the UW Libraries and the AHC contain many primary and secondary sources useful for scholarly research.
Reference & Scholarly Books
The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890 by Call Number: E81 .E984 2011ISBN: 9781851096978Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: E81 .E98 2005ISBN: 0816033374Publication Date: 2001-07-31
Encyclopedia of American Indian Wars by Call Number: E81 .K44 1997ISBN: 0874367964Publication Date: 1997-11-01
The Spanish-American War by Call Number: E715 .V469 1990ISBN: 0824079744Publication Date: 1990-05-01
America's War with Spain by Call Number: E715 .V468 2003ISBN: 0810844931Publication Date: 2003-04-21
The Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars by Call Number: E715 .E53 2009ISBN: 9781851099511Publication Date: 2009-05-20- Gathering at the Golden Gate [electronic resource] : mobilizing for war in the Philippines, 1898 by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2006
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
Recommended Scholarly Books
Books about the wars against Native Americans during the latter part of the 19th century.
The Terrible Indian Wars of the West by Call Number: E81 .K45 2016ISBN: 9780786499403Publication Date: 2016-04-12
The American Military Frontiers by Call Number: F592 .W865 2009ISBN: 9780826338433Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The American Soldier, 1866-1916 by Call Number: UA25 .H44 2018ISBN: 9781476667256Publication Date: 2018-03-08
Empire of the Summer Moon by Call Number: E99.C85 P3835 2011ISBN: 9781416591061Publication Date: 2011-05-10
An Army Doctor on the Western Frontier by Call Number: F594.L37 A3 2014ISBN: 9780826354532Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Class and Race in the Frontier Army by Call Number: F594 .A37 2009ISBN: 9780806139814Publication Date: 2009-04-03
Autumn of the Black Snake by Call Number: E83.794 .H64 2017ISBN: 9780374107345Publication Date: 2017-05-16
On the Border with Crook by Call Number: E83.866 .B78 1962ISBN: 0803257414Publication Date: 1971-09-01
Books on the Spanish-American War
A War of Frontier and Empire by Call Number: DS679 .S57 2007ISBN: 9780809071876Publication Date: 2007-02-20
The Savage Wars of Peace by Call Number: E181 .B728 2014ISBN: 9780465064939Publication Date: 2014-03-11- The downfall of Spain : naval history of the Spanish-American war by Call Number: E727 .W54 1971Publication Date: 1971
Websites
- A Guide to the Spanish-American WarA guide from the Library of Congress of resources on The Spanish-American War.
- Western Indian WarsA guide from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History
- Spanish American WarA guide from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History
Recommended Reading
- The best books on the American Indian Wars by Peter CozzensRecommendations from a US Foreign Service Officer and author.
Bibliographic Databases & Journals
- The Journal of American HistoryThe Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians. It covers the field of American history and was established in 1914 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, the official journal of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.
- The American Historical ReviewThe American Historical Review is a quarterly academic history journal and the official publication of the American Historical Association. It targets readers interested in all periods and facets of history and has often been described as the premier journal of American history in the world.
- Reviews in American HistoryReviews in American History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1973 and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. It publishes reviews of new books on the topic of American history, as well as retrospectives on influential titles of the past.
- American QuarterlyAmerican Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
- Journal of American StudiesThe Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
- The Journal of Military HistoryThe Journal of Military History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the military history of all times and places. It is the official journal of the Society for Military History. The journal was established in 1937.
Memoirs & Personal Journals
- The sinking of the "Merrimac"; : a personal narrative of the adventure in the harbor of Santiago de Cuba, June 3, 1898, and of the subsequent imprisonment of the survivors byCall Number: E727 .H68Publication Date: 1899
- A sailor's log; recollections of forty years of naval life byCall Number: E 182 .E92Publication Date: 1901
- The diary of a captain / extracts from diary of Captain W.C. Brown, commanding Troop E, First U.S. Cavalry. byCall Number: E 729 .B7xPublication Date: 19??
- The little war of Private Post / Charles Johnson Post ; with illustrations by the author. byCall Number: E717.1 .P6Publication Date: 1960