Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility: NAIS American Heritage Center

About These Resources

The resources on the page showcase some of the available collections at the American Heritage Center related to Native American and Indigenous Studies. Visit the AHC's main LibGuide to learn more about how to use and search for more of our primary source materials, or get started with your research by looking through our finding aids on Archives West. You can get in touch with the AHC's Reference Services at 307-766-3756 or ahcref@uwyo.edu if you have questions.

The American Heritage Center aspires to approach all areas of our work in ways that are respectful to those who create, use, and are represented in our collections. For a variety of reasons, however, users may encounter offensive or harmful language or content in some of our finding aids, catalogs, and collection materials. Note that the AHC does not censor or alter contents of the collections, as they provide context and evidence of a time, people, place, or event. Therefore, we encourage users to bring questions and concerns about descriptions in our finding aids to our attention via email or anonymous web-form. For more information, read our full statement on potentially harmful language and content.

AHC Archival Collections

Crow Indian women and children in a field.

Women and children from the Crow Indian Reservation in Montana, Richard Throssel Papers, Collection 2394.

Nas’Naga Papers, Collection 11056
Nas'Naga was the pen-name of author Roger W. Russell, who was a member of the Shawnee Nation, United Remnant Band. The collection contains correspondence about the publishing and distribution of "Indians' Summer" and the attempt to sell movie rights to Warner Brothers. Also included are manuscripts of his books.

Warm Valley Historical Project Records, Collection 11457
The collection contains a historical examination from the Eastern Shoshone perspective of the boarding school experience at Wind River Indian Reservation in Wyoming. Also included is an analysis of major cultural transitions resulting from the early reservation system through recorded and transcribed oral history interviews.

Wind River Indian Needs Determination Survey (1998) Records, Collection 11703
The Survey (1998) replicated information collected in 1987 among Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho on the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming, to allow a comparison. The survey included education, employment, health, housing, and safety topics. Online content is available.

Emily Hill's and Dorothy Tappay's Shoshoni Ghost Dance Songs Audio Cassettes, Collection 10497
The collection consists of 5 audio-cassette tapes which are copies of originals collected by Judith Vander. The tapes contain the Shoshoni Ghost Dance songs of Emily Hill and Dorothy Tappay.

Wyoming Folklife Archive, Collection 545018
The Wyoming Folklife Archive contains office files, audio and video tapes, photographs, and slides documenting folklife and folk arts in Wyoming including painting, woodwork, metalsmithing, jewelry-making, folk music, and architecture.

UW American Indian Studies Program, Collection 545020
The UW American Indian Studies program, now renamed as UW Native American and Indigenous Studies program (NAIS), focuses on Native American communities and the social, political, and economic systems within them. The collection contains material for a dictionary of the Eastern Shoshone language, a grant proposal, program summary, and access to the archived department website. Archived NAIS webpages are available online.

Loretta Fowler Papers, Collection 11403
Loretta Fowler was a Professor of Anthropology and Adjunct Professor of Native American Studies at the University of Oklahoma. The collection contains Loretta Fowler's research material from her study of the Arapaho people on the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming from 1969 to 1978, including interviews, photographs, map sketches, data analysis, and notes.

Irving S Cutter Collection, Collection 00501
The collection contains lantern slides and glass plate negatives created and collected by Dr. Irving S Cutter relating to Western U.S. and Native American History. Topics include Dr. Edwin James (a member of the Stephen H. Long 1819-1820 expedition to the Rocky Mountains) and George Armstrong Custer.

Richard Throssel Papers, Collection 02394
The collection contains materials mainly relating to Throssel's photographic work, including 2,481 photographs, glass plate negatives and lantern slides of the Crow and Northern Cheyenne Indians from 1902-1933. Online content is available.

Michael McClure Papers, Collection 11720
Michael McClure was a Wyoming photographer. The collection contains photographs, negatives, and slides regarding his career in the state of Wyoming, including photos at Wyoming Indian Elementary School, Middle School, and High School on the Wind River Reservation.

Alice Sheldon’s Washakie Artifact Collection, Collection 09686
This collection includes five boxes containing artifacts pertaining primarily to Chief Washakie, such as blankets, moccasins, dolls, beads, a horse-hair belt, rattles, spoons, and photographs. Other artifacts from different tribes are also included.

Zdeněk Salzmann Arapaho Indian Research Papers, Collection 10396
Collection contains published background material on Arapaho and North American Indians, Zdeněk Salzmann’s research notes, a card file for an English-Arapaho dictionary, and 21 reel-to-reel and 92 audio cassette tapes of musical performances and interviews with members of the Arapaho tribe concerning their language and culture. Online content is available.

H. D. Del Monte Maverick Springs Papers, Collection 07430
The collection includes materials related to federal oil leases on Shoshoni and Arapaho reservation lands, including correspondence with Wyoming political figures, drilling logs, production and marketing data on Maverick Springs crude oil, minutes from Shoshoni and Arapaho Business Council meetings, reports on Wyoming oil, and newspaper clippings.

James K Moore Family Papers, Collection 00051
The James K. Moore Family Papers contain photographs, correspondence, scrapbooks, manuscripts, notes, and other miscellaneous materials pertaining to the history of this Wyoming family from 1824-2001, including their interactions with Shoshone and Arapaho Indians living on the Wind River Indian Reservation. Also included is an original copy of the Fort Bridger Treaty of 1863 between the Shoshone Tribe and the United States Government, which established the reservation. Online content is available.

Jay Ellis Ransom Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark Research Materials, Collection 08679
This collection contains Jay Ellis Ransom's research material and writings on the Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark in Wyoming. His controversial theory that the wheel was constructed by Aztec-Tanoan peoples who later migrated into Central America, rather than Plains Indians who therefore should not claim special rights to it

Molly Peacock Stenberg Papers, Collection 05711
This collection contains research papers about Western US history and culture, and includes phonograph records of Native American songs, published materials on peyote and mescaline use, and presentations about peyote ceremonies (1937-1967).

John Roberts Papers, Collection 37
John Roberts, born in 1853, was an Episcopalian missionary who worked among the Arapaho and Shoshone peoples on the Wind River Indian Reservation in Wyoming. The collection includes notes and drafts, as well as printed versions of Robert’s translations of church literature into the Arapaho and Shoshone languages. Other material includes history of the region and biographical information about Roberts and his family, friends and prominent citizens of the area including Sacagawea. Online content is available.

 

AHC Digital Exhibits and Blogs

Virmuze Digital Exhibits
A Fur Trade Diary, Painted By Alfred Jacob Miller

The exhibit showcases the artwork of Alfred Jacob Miller, who sketched and painted countless images of the American West, the people at the trade, and the culture during his trip to the 1837 Fur Trade Rendezvous.

Collection Spotlight: Baker and Johnston Photographs

The Baker and Johnston Photographs collection contains original glass plate negatives of Native Americans primarily from the Shoshone, Arapahoe, and Apache tribes, and includes portraits of Chief Washakie, Geronimo, and General Crook.

Fort Laramie: Prairie Sentinel

The exhibit shows Fort Laramie, a secluded outpost that protected trains, mail services, and telegraph lines. It was the scene of trade and treaty councils with the Native Americans and became a base for military operations against them when they fought against the invasion on their land.

AHC’s Discover History Blog
Crow Indian Photographer Richard Throssel by AHC Staff

The Legacy of Zdeněk Salzmann for the Arapaho (Hinónoʼeiteen) by Alexandra Cardin, AHC Archival Processor

Washakie: Through the Lens of Time by AHC Staff
 

 

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon