Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page provides a variety of selected databases, books, and media resources related to Latinx culture held within UW Libraries.
Secondary Source Databases
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
Social science and humanities indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles from Latin America back to 1991. On the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola This link opens in a new window
Spanish literature indexing database that covers books, journals, critical editions, conference papers, etc. back to 1980. On the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
Ongoing full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video offers original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.
Acceda Noticias (Spanish-language) News Sources This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from Spanish languages newspapers around the world.
Primary Source Databases
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers Series I and II This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th and 20th-century newspapers from Latin America.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture. On the Ebscohost platform.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Chicano studies database with full-text articles, documents, media, speeches, maps, songs, interviews, and photographs. On the ABC-CLIO platform.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean provides a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Latina Students¿ Experiences in Public Schools by
Focusing on issues relating to gender, gender relations, and discrimination, this book provides nuanced insight into the experiences of young Latina women and their teachers in a North American middle school. Latina Students' Experiences in Public Schoolsdetails how students navigate questions of gender, gender discrimination, and gender relations in the context of post-feminism, and in view of widespread claims that advocacy for girls and women has been outmoded by anti-discriminatory legislation. Drawing on an ethnographic study that focuses on gender segregation and dominance, relational identities, and the role of teachers in reinforcing gender dynamics, the text deftly demonstrates the effect of postfeminist policy and ideology on gender equity and achievement in public schools. In particular, the text illustrates that young Latina women continue to face both physical and verbal harassment on a daily basis, which is often overlooked by school faculty and administrators. A powerful and timely text, the volume advocates for action to counter school-based gender discrimination. This book will be of great interest to graduate and postgraduate students, researchers, academics, policy makers, libraries in the field of gender and sexuality in education, gender studies, secondary education and urban education.
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Latina/o/x Communication Studies by
Latina/o/x Communication Studies: Theories, Methods, and Practice spotlights contemporary Latina/o/x Communication Studies research in various theoretical, methodological, and academic contexts. Leandra H. Hern ndez, Diana I. Bowen, Sara De Los Santos Upton, and Amanda R. Martinez have assembled a collection of case studies that focus on health, media, rhetoric, identity, organizations, the environment, and academia. Contributors expand upon previous Latina/o/x Communication Studies scholarship by examining identity and academic experiences in our current political climate; the role of language, identity, and Latinidades in health and media contexts; and the role of social activism in rhetorical, environmental, organizational, and border studies contexts. Scholars of communication, Latin American Studies, rhetoric, and sociology will find this book particularly useful.
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Latina Bilingual Education Teachers by
Using critical race theory and whiteness studies as theoretical frameworks, this book traces two Latina bilingual education teachers in three different professional phases: as paraprofessionals, teacher candidates, and certified teachers. Grounded in a longitudinal case study, this book sheds light on the effects of institutional racism when Latina/o educational professionals attempt inclusion in white dominant organizations, such as schools. Revealing and analyzing the structural racism present in schools and the obstacles it creates for professionals of color, the author exposes the racist practices that are hidden from view and offer practical solutions to combat them.
Publication Date: 2018-03-26
Mapping South American Latina/o Literature in the United States by
This collection of interviews demonstrates that U.S. Latinas/os of South American background have contributed pioneering work to U.S. Latina/o literature and culture in the twenty-first century. In conversation with twelve significant authors of South American descent in the United States, Juanita Heredia reveals that, through their transnational experiences, they have developed multicultural identities throughout different regions and cities across the country. However, these authors' works also exemplify a return to their heritage in South America through memory and travel, often showing that they maintain strong cultural and literary ties across national borders. As such, they have created a new chapter in trans-American history by finding new ways of imagining South America from their formation and influences in the U.S.
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
Latina/o Midwest Reader by
From 2000 to 2010, the Latino population increased by more than 73 percent across eight midwestern states. These interdisciplinary essays explore issues of history, education, literature, art, and politics defining today's Latina/o Midwest. Some contributors delve into the Latina/o revitalization of rural areas, where communities have launched bold experiments in dual-language immersion education while seeing integrated neighborhoods, churches, and sports teams become the norm. Others reveal metro areas as laboratories for emerging Latino subjectivities, places where for some, the term Latina/o itself corresponds to a new type of lived identity as different Latina/o groups interact in shared neighborhoods, schools, and workplaces. Eye-opening and provocative, The Latina/o Midwest Reader rewrites the conventional wisdom on today's Latina/o community and how it faces challenges--and thrives--in the heartland. Contributors: Aidé Acosta, Frances R. Aparicio, Jay Arduser, Jane Blocker, Carolyn Colvin, María Eugenia Cotera, Theresa Delgadillo, Lilia Fernández, Claire F. Fox, Felipe Hinojosa, Michael D. Innis-Jiménez, José E. Limón, Marta María Maldonado, Louis G. Mendoza, Amelia María de la Luz Montes, Kim Potowski, Ramón H. Rivera-Servera, Rebecca M. Schreiber, Omar Valerio-Jiménez, Santiago Vaquera-Vásquez, Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Janet Weaver, and Elizabeth Willmore
Publication Date: 2017-06-26