Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility: Latinx American Heritage Center

About These Resources

The resources on the page showcase some of the available collections at the American Heritage Center related to Latinx Studies. Visit the AHC's main LibGuide to learn more about how to use and search for more of our primary source materials, or get started with your research by looking through our finding aids on Archives West. You can get in touch with the AHC's Reference Services at 307-766-3756 or ahcref@uwyo.edu if you have questions.

The American Heritage Center aspires to approach all areas of our work in ways that are respectful to those who create, use, and are represented in our collections. For a variety of reasons, however, users may encounter offensive or harmful language or content in some of our finding aids, catalogs, and collection materials. Note that the AHC does not censor or alter contents of the collections, as they provide context and evidence of a time, people, place, or event. Therefore, we encourage users to bring questions and concerns about descriptions in our finding aids to our attention via email or anonymous web-form. For more information, read our full statement on potentially harmful language and content.

AHC Archival Collections

Children at a parade holding a Latin American Club Rascals sign.

Photo of children at the 1995 Laramie Jubilee Days Kid Parade. From the Latin American Club of Laramie Records, Collection 11427, box 5.

 

Hispanic Organization for Progress and Education (HOPE) Records, Collection 12516
This collection contains the administrative files of HOPE, an organization that worked to provide educational, economic, social, and political opportunities for the Hispanic Community. Included are by-laws, meeting minutes, and information about HOPE's events and scholarship winners.

Wyoming Latina Youth Conference Records, Collection 12515
The Wyoming Latina Youth Conference was a non-profit organization focused on empowering young Latinas through mentorship and awareness. The collection contains administrative records, photographs, scrapbooks, programs, and posters relating to the Wyoming Latina Youth Conference and the activities of the organization.

UW Chicano Studies Program, Collection 545014
The Chicano Studies program was an interdisciplinary program at the University of Wyoming. Collection contains a documentary that depicts history of Chicanos, their migration patterns, discrimination, folklore, and life within the community.

Lawrence A. Cardoso Papers, Collection 400011
Lawrence Cardoso taught history at the University of Wyoming, with a focus on Mexican and Mexican American history. This collection contains his research, published manuscripts, and videotaped lectures.

Movimiento Estudiantil Chicana/o de Aztlán (University of Wyoming) Records, Collection 300520
This collection includes records of a student organization at the University of Wyoming that established cultural pride, awareness, and sensitivity to Chicano values.

Manito Trail Exhibit Records, Collection 560005
Following the Manito Trail was an interdisciplinary ethnographic project by the University of Wyoming that documented Hispanic New Mexican or Manito migration from New Mexico to different parts of the United States during the last century. The collection contains printed materials, video, and scrapbooks regarding the Manito Trail Exhibit.

Latin American Club of Laramie (Wyo.) Records, Collection 11427
The Latin American Club of Laramie (Wyo.) was a cultural resource for the Latin American population of Laramie between 1956 and 2004. Its records include official records, newspaper clippings, convention programs, photographs and some artifacts. Collection also includes the records of the Latin American Club of Cheyenne (Wyo.).

Wyoming Heritage and Contemporary Values Project Records, Collection 11694
The collection contains transcripts of oral history interviews with women living in southeastern Wyoming, including the towns of Laramie, Cheyenne, and Wheatland, as well as smaller communities in the area. Included are professional women, ranch women, an African-American woman, and a Hispanic woman. The interviewers seek information on the women's attitudes about such issues as birth control, as well as stories of their lives.

Wyoming Folklife Archive, Collection 545018
The Wyoming Folklife Archive contains audio and video tapes, photographs, and slides documenting folklife and folk arts in Wyoming including painting, woodwork, metalsmithing, and jewelry-making; folk music; and architecture.

Gonzalo Guzman newspaper collection of “La Pagina Espanol De La Tribune,” Powell, Wyoming, Collection 12782
Collection contains copies of the 1920s newspaper, “La Pagina Espanol De La Tribune” of Powell, Wyoming, used in Guzman’s research of Mexican immigrants from 1900-1979 in Wyoming. Online copies are available.

 

 

AHC Blogs

AHC’s Discovery History Blog

Amigos de la Comunidad of Torrington by AHC Simpson Archivist Leslie Waggener

Dirty and Difficult: Laboring in Wyoming’s Early Sugar Beet Industry by AHC Simpson Archivist Leslie Waggener

Lovell’s Latin American Colony by AHC Staff

Folklife in Wyoming by AHC Digital Archivist Rachel Gattermeyer

Cementing a Relationship: How Concrete brought New Mexicans to Wyoming by AHC Staff

Search the UW Catalog

Search for:
Search in:
 

This search box will search the University of Wyoming's Online Catalog. Using this search, you can find manuscript and archival collections at the AHC as well as rare books in the AHC's Toppan Rare Books Library. Additional search tools (such as physical card catalogs, subject/photo/biographical file indexes, etc.) are available on-site, too. If you are unsuccessful in your search, please contact the Reference Services unit for assistance, or visit us on-site. Online cataloging projects are ongoing. 

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon