Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility: Intersectionality AHC Resources

About These Resources

The resources on the page showcase some of the available collections at the American Heritage Center related to Intersectionality. Visit the AHC's main LibGuide to learn more about how to use and search for more of our primary source materials, or get started with your research by looking through our finding aids on Archives West. You can get in touch with the AHC's Reference Services at 307-766-3756 or ahcref@uwyo.edu if you have questions.

The American Heritage Center aspires to approach all areas of our work in ways that are respectful to those who create, use, and are represented in our collections. For a variety of reasons, however, users may encounter offensive or harmful language or content in some of our finding aids, catalogs, and collection materials. Note that the AHC does not censor or alter contents of the collections, as they provide context and evidence of a time, people, place, or event. Therefore, we encourage users to bring questions and concerns about descriptions in our finding aids to our attention via email or anonymous web-form. For more information, read our full statement on potentially harmful language and content.

AHC Archival Collections

Carrie Burton, February 11, 1904. B.C. Buffum papers, Acc. No. 400055

Willis H. Ludlow papers, Collection 10726

Willis H. Ludlow (b. 1933) was a Methodist minister and community activist. Ludlow was active in promoting anti-racism and anti-sexism campaigns. The collection contains sermons and radio commentaries; files about politics and political campaigns; personal correspondence and files; and motion picture and sound recordings.

Meg Karlin papers, Collection 10335

Meg Karlin was a musician and musicologist and wife of Fred Karlin, composer and author. The Karlins were music collectors and Meg also collected books and ephemera of American ethnic groups, recordings, records, and African American and ethnic topical sheet music, drawings, and books. This collection includes literature that deals with racial and ethnic stereotyping in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. There is a particular interest in ethnic jokes and anecdotes reflected in the collection. Also included is material related to nationality, war involvement, religion, and holidays.

Edward Lewis papers, Collection 09628

Edward Lewis was a motion picture and television producer between the 1940s and 1980s. Lewis's films often explored social issues, including racism and anti-Semitism, or political issues, such as fascism and the Israeli-Palestine conflict. The majority of the collection consists of production files from movies and television series produced by Lewis, as well as production projects that were not produced. Production files contain correspondence, legal documents, financial files, scripts, notes, advertising and publicity, shooting schedules, photographs, and viewer's comments. In addition, there is a novel and screenplays written by Lewis (some under pseudonyms), and general files from his production company.

Edward Gardner Lewis papers, 01210

Edward Gardner Lewis (1869–1950) was a promoter, magazine publisher, political activist, and founder of two utopian colonies: University City, Missouri, and Atascadero, California. The collection contains materials pertaining to establishment of the Illustrated Daily News by Cornelius Vanderbilt, Jr. in 1923; materials related to Lewis’ planned communities of University City, Missouri, and Atascadero, California; motion picture film produced by Lewis concerning business techniques and other topics; a book titled The Siege of University City by Sidney Morse published in 1912; and a scrapbook with copies of The Woman’s Magazine, 1905.

Vera Glaser papers, 09826

Vera Glaser worked as a journalist for the Washington Times Herald in 1944. Glaser continued to work as a Washington based reporter through the 1990s for a number of different news agencies, including the North America Newspaper Alliance, Knight-Ridder, Washingtonian Magazine, Scripts - WTOP News, and the Maturity News Service. In addition to her reporting, Glaser was active in the Republican Party and served on the President's Task Force on Women's Rights and Responsibilities and as president of the Washington Press Club. The bulk of the Vera Glaser papers consist of research files and published articles and columns on American politics and women’s issues from the 1940s through the 1990s. In addition there are a number of professional files, including files related to her work for Sen. Charles Potter and Sen. Kenneth Keating, the Republican National Committee, presidential committees, and various women’s and journalistic organizations.

James K. Warner papers, 07354

James K. Warner was president of the Christian Defense League in the 1980s. He was also associated with the New Christian Crusade Church. The New Christian Crusade Church was a Christian Identity church based in Louisiana during the second half of the twentieth century. The collection contains a selection of newsletters, periodicals, and pamphlets supporting white supremacist, anti-Communist, and anti-Jewish sentiment.

T. G. Kent papers, 10947

T. G. Kent was editor and publisher of the "Putnam County Sun", established in 1954 in Palatka, Florida. This newspaper was ultra-conservative with anti-Communist, anti-Black, and anti-Jewish content, among other types of articles, some written by Kent. The collection contains copies of Kent's newspapers published in the 1950s and 1960s, "The Putnam Sun", subtitled as "Palatka, Florida's independent newspaper with national circulation". Also included are extensive topical files in alphabetical order that include clippings, articles, and notes of a wide range of subjects from South Africa to individuals to the Ku Klux Klan.

Ira Lunan Ferguson papers, 03492

Ferguson was born in Jamaica in 1904 and came to the United States in 1919. He began medical training at Howard University, but was unable to finish due to financial difficulties during the depression of the 1930s. In 1950, Ferguson earned a Ph. D. from Columbia University. After being turned down for positions at over 1000 colleges and universities in the North, a fact he attributed to racism, he accepted a position at Tuskegee Institute in 1950. Collection contains correspondence (1920-1970); job application and rejection letters, many with annotations by Ferguson (1948-1957); newspaper clippings; the manuscript of his dissertation on tuberculosis in the black population; certificates; books by Ferguson; and miscellaneous other materials.

University of Wyoming. Shepard Symposium on Social Justice records, 544004

The Shepard Symposium on Social Justice, an annual event at the University of Wyoming since 1997, has evolved into a major national conference, seeking to engage participants in discussion and analyses of strategies and actions that can eliminate social inequality. Begun by two faculty in the College of Education, Omawale Akintunde and Margaret Cooney, the symposium, then called “The Symposium for the Eradication of Social Inequality,” aimed at involving University of Wyoming and local students in dialogue on issues related to social justice, particularly within the context of public education. Collection contains posters, handbills, flyers, buttons, name tags, video recordings, and pens from the annual University of Wyoming Shepard Symposium on Social Justice as well as access to the symposium's archived websites.

Ross Upton Political Collection, 10732

The Ross Upton political collection contains newsletters, newspapers, pamphlets, and books. They are all politically of the extreme right. They are anti-black, anti-Islam, anti-Jew, anti-government, and anti-war. Some of the most prolific of the pamphlet writers are Jim Dobbs, Mary M. Davison, Andrew Macdonald, and Marilyn R. Allen. Some of the titles are "Sons of Liberty", "The Ball Reports", "The Councilor", "The Spotlight", "The Truth at Last", "Century Magazine", "Richard Cotton's Conservative Viewpoint", "National Graphics", "Liberty Lobby", "Common Sense", and "The Thunderbolt: The White Man's Viewpoint".

AHC Digital Exhibits and Blog

Virmuze Digital Exhibits

In Pursuit of Equality

This exhibit shows the story of three women - Nellie Tayloe Ross, Thyra Thomson, and Liz Byrd - who, as elected office holders, challenged and changed the conventional understanding of equality in Wyoming.

The Black 14: Protests and Reactions

This exhibit details the events of the Black 14 - how it happened, why it happened, and how it was received.

Eighteenth Century Woman Writers

This exhibit highlights the contributions of eighteenth-century women to literary culture.

Heart Mountain Relocation Center: Wyoming's Japanese Internment Camp 

In 1942, Japanese immigrants and Japanese-American citizens were taken from their daily lives and transported into internment camps during World War II. They were told to only bring what they could carry. Wyoming's Heart Mountain internment camp was one of ten facilities which in total confined over 120,000 Japanese Americans. This exhibit tells some of these stories.

Vera Glaser: A Pioneer for Women's Rights 

This exhibit goes over the life and impact of Vera Glaser, who was a reporter, journalist, and a pioneer for women’s rights. She paved the way for the Task Force on Women’s Rights and Responsibilities.

AHC Discovery History Blog

There are many blog posts that relate to Intersectionality on our blog. Use the search bar on the blog site to check them out.

Emancipation Day at Cheyenne’s Allen Chapel AME Church by AHC Public History Educator Brigida “Brie” Blasi

Carrie Burton Overton, UW’s First African American Female Student by the AHC’s Simpson Archivist Leslie Waggener

Opening Chutes and Closets – Gay Rodeo by AHC Writer Kathryn Billington

Celebrating LGBTQ Pride: The S.J. Moffat Collection by Morgan Walsh, AHC Archives Aide

Suffrage for Women – The Push to Ratify the 19th Amendment by AHC Writer Kathryn Billington

Search the UW Catalog

Search for:
Search in:
 

This search box will search the University of Wyoming's Online Catalog. Using this search, you can find manuscript and archival collections at the AHC as well as rare books in the AHC's Toppan Rare Books Library. Additional search tools (such as physical card catalogs, subject/photo/biographical file indexes, etc.) are available on-site, too. If you are unsuccessful in your search, please contact the Reference Services unit for assistance, or visit us on-site. Online cataloging projects are ongoing. 

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon