Wyoming Nursing Resources: Public Health

The latest edition of the Healthy People Initiative that establishes public health goals and objectives for the United States. Healthy People is published by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

Includes apps for Disaster Medicine Tools, Psychological Health Tools, Other Disaster Related Sources, Hazardous Events, Disasters & Disease Outbreaks

The oldest public health association in the world, APHA "aims to protect all Americans, their families and their communities from preventable, serious health threats and strives to assure community-based health promotion and disease prevention activities and preventive health services are universally accessible in the United States."

"EHHI is dedicated to protecting human health from environmental harms through research, education and promotion of sound public policy."

"Partners students with grassroots organizations to address health disparities."

"Promotes and protects the public's health through program development"

"PICH is a 3-year initiative that supports implementation of evidence-based strategies to improve the health of communities and reduce the prevalence of chronic disease. PICH builds on a body of knowledge developed through previously funded Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) programs and encourages collaborations with a multi-sectoral coalition to implement sustainable changes in communities where people live, learn, work, and play."

From the Specialized Information Service branch of the National Library of Medicine, this site "provides access to a comprehensive list of resources within and outside of NLM"

Comprehensive web site on emergency preparedness, including links to related pages on specific types of disasters.

Find information on Disaster Types & Topics, Emergency Response Tools, ToxNet, Health Organizations, and Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health

From US Dept of Health & Human Services, this site provides information on international, federal response to disasters and links to state public health organizations.

"This interactive game will introduce you to the world of public health as you help discover the source of the outbreak that has hit the small community of Watersedge and stop it before more residents get sick."

"includes access to resources produced by TEHIP and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources."

Links to environmental resources on multiple topics including Agencies & Associations, Children's Environmental Health, Hazardous Substances, Literature and Reports, Data Tools and Statistics, Legislation & Policies

Identify locations of toxic chemical releases and hazardous wastes sites in the US.

Information on women and men's reproductive health issues.

This toolkit is one page from a comprehensive web site from the Maternal and Child Health at Georgetown University. Click on the "Resources compiled by NCEMCH" links to see the full list of links to additional information

"POPLINE provides access to 350,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health"

Resources on developing country policies, development and research from over 7,500 organizations.

From the US Department of Health & Human Services, this website provides information on News, World Regions, Global Health Topics, Global Programs & Initiatives.

Shows health alerts throughout the world.

As a Regional Office of WHO, this organization is the world's oldest international health agency, providing information, services and programs in the Inter-American System.

Find information on Native American health issues, including Cancer, Diabetes, Flu, Heart Disease and Traditional Healing. Also includes information on other indigenous groups, including Hawaiian and Canadian groups.

Find evidence-based information and resources for the Healthy People 2020 Topic Areas.

McMaster University in Hamilton,Canada offers this service for Public Health, evaluating published studies and rating the evidence as Strong, Moderate and Weak. Requires free registration. Database is searchable.

Information on each U.S. county on health factors such as obesity, smoking, unemployment, etc. Data may be accessed through an interactive map or a search query by health measures and a state. Comparisons between counties and states is also available. A collaborative project between the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Web site designed specifically for public health professionals. An example of topics include Health Promotion, Bioterrorism, Environmental Health, Obesity, Nutrition, Veterinary Public Health

Wyoming specific information on health behavior and related health risks.

Includes links to all departments within the department, including Public Health

Provides health indicators for the state and by county.

Provides multiple categories of information about Wyoming.