Wyoming Nursing Resources: Evidence Based

Archives of Diseases in Childhood provides a collection of evidence based appraisals in the Best Bets model. Blog allows readers to pose questions.

From BMJ Group and McMaster University. Requires registration.

From the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine

Registry of publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. A service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health

from Springer Science and BioMed Central

Alphabetical list of Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs) Reports.

"The first issue of Bandolier, an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare, written by Oxford scientists...The impetus behind Bandolier was to find information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets."

"BETs are designed specifically for Emergency Medicine. The BET method allows the use of lower quality research, and lists the shortcomings of the evidence used. As with other forms of EBM topic review, each BET has a clinical "bottom line" for the busy physician."

"The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare."

Canadian Medical Association database of clinical practice guidelines

Provides evidence based summaries of articles reviewed by a review panels. Topics include Social Work Intervention Effectiveness and Outcomes of Care Coordination for Older Adults.

"PEDro is a free database of over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible."

In the Filters section in the column on the left, under Test Availability, limit to FREE Full Text Available. (Do not confuse this filter with Full Text Available, most of those links will take you to publisher sites which may ask for payment to view articles.)

Use your public library card, or visit a Wyoming public library to access the databases available in the state. Wyoming is the only state that offers the Cochrane Library statewide.

Not living in Wyoming? Check with your public library, as other states, such as Kansas, Oregon and Florida, have similar statewide access.

FDA page which is intended to: "Expand the regulatory application of the BCS and recommends methods for classifying drugs and
explain when a waiver for in vivo bioavailability and bioequivalence studies may be requested based on the approach of BCS."

Dalhousie University, College of Pharmacy

"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services. AHRQ was formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research."

Alphabetical list of Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs) Reports.

Provides information and links to Data, Tools and Statistics, Grants & Funding, Guidelines, EBP and Health Technology and more.

Web-based resource of full-text government documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.

Provides overview of grey literature and approaches for searching the grey literature.

GreySource provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and in so doing profiles organizations responsible for its production and/or processing. Only web-based resources that explicitly refer to the term grey literature (or its equivalent in any language) are listed.

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

Use search box on lower right to search the full collection. Older documents may be available only in print, but can be requested.

From the University of British Columbia, This guide is meant to assist those in scholarly environments who would like to extend their research to this important area of literature.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Child Trends is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that studies children at all stages of development.

NREPP is a searchable online registry of more than 200 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment. We connect members of the public to intervention developers so they can learn how to implement these approaches in their communities.

"The Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library is committed to providing knowledge resources to help advance nurses and patient care. The library is dedicated to bringing the latest research on nursing knowledge important to all nurses – clinicians, researchers, educators and students.Through the library’s complimentary Registry of Nursing Research and Practice Innovations Repository, individuals have access to a full-text search of study abstracts, conference abstracts, dissertations, full-text articles*, videos and audio files."

From AHRQ, this freely available resource provides evaluation of the evidence behind the guidelines. To get to the guideline itself, go to the bottom of the evaluation to Guideline Availability.

Provides statistical information, tools and resources on a variety of health-related topics.

From AHRQ, NQMC is a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.

Customized Google Search

Can use PICO framework for a punned search.

Requires free registration

Provides direction for assessing guidelines.

"Centre for Evidence-based Medicine at the University of Oxford aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools"

"The Cochrane Collaboration is an international network of more than 28,000 dedicated people from over 100 countries."

"The Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (short GRADE) Working Group began in the year 2000 as an informal collaboration of people with an interest in addressing the shortcomings of present grading systems in health care. The working group has developed a common, sensible and transparent approach to grading quality of evidence and strength of recommendations."

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is an international not-for-profit, research and development organisation based within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia.

"NICE guidance supports healthcare professionals and others to make sure that the care they provide is of the best possible quality and offers the best value for money.
We provide independent, authoritative and evidence-based guidance on the most effective ways to prevent, diagnose and treat disease and ill health, reducing inequalities and variation."

"An independent, nonfederal, unpaid body, appointed by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), whose members represent a broad range of research, practice, and policy expertise in community preventive services, public health, health promotion, and disease prevention."