LibGuides: HIST 3020: Historical Methods: Special Collections

Our Collections

Check out our snazzy new homepage!

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections supports the mission of the University of Wyoming Libraries to provide information resources and services to meet the instructional, research, and outreach needs of UW Students, faculty, and staff. It also serves the research needs of Wyoming citizens as well as researchers from around the world. There are more than 90,000 published items located within Chisum Special Collections primarily related to Wyoming's history and culture.

Collections include:

Canoso Miniature Book Collection
Cheramy Native American Collection
Far West Library of Howard H. Hays
Grace Raymond Hebard Collection
Hebard Historic Map Collection
Historic Clothing Collection
Ravage Collection
University of Wyoming Wool Lab Library
W.R. Coe Collection
General Special Collections
Materials held in the general special collections include items deemed to be of high value, possibly rare, but that do not fall under the collection guidelines of the Toppan Rare Books Library at the American Heritage Center. These materials have been donated and collected throughout the University libraries history; and encompass a wide variety of subjects through a national and international in scope.

Collection Guide

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

Room 309, Coe Library
University of Wyoming
(307) 766-2027

About the Hebard Historic Map Collection

The Hebard Historic Map Collection is primarily a collection of published maps about Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain West. It includes:

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Topographic maps from the USGS, including 7.5', 15', 30', 60', and larger maps for Wyoming and contiguous states and western national parks
Highway maps for Wyoming and contiguous states
National forest maps for Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain West
Wyoming Geological Survey publications, including maps
Town and city maps of Wyoming and significant municipalities in the Rocky Mountain West

Other Resources

Preferred Citation and Copyright

Researchers are requested to use the preferred citation that designates Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections, Univeristy of Wyoming Libraries, as the repository for any material used in a published work. We request that citations use the following format:

[collection name], Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections, University of Wyoming Libraries.