Resource Discovery and Management: Map Cataloging

Fixed fields:

Type for sheet maps is “e”;

BLvl “m”;

CrTp usually “a”, indicating a single map; may also be “b” for a map series or “c” for a serial.  If cataloging a single map from a series, and the only available record has CrTp “b”, consult with the map original cataloger;

Desc “a” (AACR2) or “i” (RDA) most desirably.  If this field is blank, the record is likely pre-AACR2 and shouldn’t be used if any other record exists; if there are no other records, give the map to the map original cataloger;

Indx usually “0”, unless the map includes a gazetteer or extensive place descriptions keyed to the map, then it is set to “1”.  Unlike legends or keys (a list that explains the symbols on a map), Indexes have a one-to-one relationship between a place on a map and the listing of the place so that place can be easily referenced by the user. When in doubt use 0;

GPub “f” if federal (USGS, Forest Service, BLM, etc.), “s” if state (WSGS), otherwise blank;

Proj and Relf coded according to map characteristics.  Relf code corresponds to the relief statement 500 note, and Proj code corresponds to the projection statement in the 255 ǂb;

007: Add if not present.  Some common encodings are:

Color paper map: a ǂb j ǂd c ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n

Black and white paper map: a ǂb j ǂd a ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n

Encoding for other types of maps may be found in BF&S.

020: Check for accuracy.  Correct if in error, or add if an ISBN is present on the map and not given in the record.

034: Use OCLC macro to create from 255 if not present or not accurate.  (Check and correct 255 first, of course!)

043: Verify that at least one 650 (subject heading) exists with geographic subdivision (subfield z), and/or a 651 (geographic subject heading) exists. If neither are present, send map to the map original cataloger as noted in Step 4 above.  If 043 is present, verify that it matches the first 651 or subfield z in 6xx. If 043 is not present, use OCLC macro to create 043 from subject headings. 

049: WYUM for Geology maps, WYUE for Hebard maps

050 or 090: If the record has no call number, or the call number looks questionable, give the map to the map original cataloger to add or correct the call number.  

052: The 052 is based on the LC call number, and in many cases it will match the class code (the first four digits after the “G”) in the call number.  If the 052 exists, verify that it matches the call number.  If the 052 doesn’t exist, create one from the class code in the 050 or 090.

1xx: Verify that the existing 1xx field corresponds to a name on the map, keeping in mind that the authorized form of a name may differ from the way the name is printed on the map.  Authorship for maps can be difficult to determine.  If there is no 100 (individual author) or 110 (corporate author) in the record, but a company, government agency, or individual is named on the map, consult with the map original cataloger to determine if an author heading should be added. 

245: Verify that the title in the record matches a title, preferably the most prominent one, on the map itself.  If the record uses a cover or panel title, and a title exists on the map itself, correct the record to use the map title, and move the panel or cover title to a 246.  Remove |h [cartographic resources] if present.

246: Verify that any titles listed in 246 fields actually exist on the map (or are variants of existing titles, substituting “and” for “&”, for example.)  Add additional title entries for any text that might be considered a title.  Make 246’s for panel title or cover title if these weren’t used for the title proper and don’t already exist.  (Titles of accompanying texts go in a 740.) (indicator 1 or 3, second cataloging step)

250: Verify that the edition information in the record, if any, matches an edition statement on the map.  An edition statement usually includes the words “edition”, “revised”, “photorevised”, or “version”.  Maps sometimes include a printing statement or date; these are not edition statements and shouldn’t be recorded in a 250.  When in doubt, consult with the map original cataloger.

255: Cartographic information:

255 |a: Check scale for accuracy; check that the scale is stated properly (in particular, if a scale is approximate, make sure it is stated that way.)  Check additional scale information, if present; if it isn’t present, don’t add it. 

255 |b: If no projection statement is given in the record, check for a projection statement on the map and add it to the record if you find one (this field is often left out of map records, even when stated on the map, but it’s also often left off the map.) 

255 |c: Check lat/long bounding box for accuracy; if the record contains approximations (the map doesn’t have exact lat/long at each corner, so the cataloger had to extrapolate) make corrections to degrees only, not minutes or seconds.  If the map has latitude/longitude given, but the record does not, add the bounding box, extrapolating to minutes only, or give to map original cataloger.

260: Verify that the information in the record matches the publication information on the map.  If a printing date was used instead of the publication date, correct the date to use the publication date.

300: Check for accuracy and correct if necessary.  The 300 field contains a description of the primary map (or maps, if there are more than one and none seem more important than the others.)  Maps can be configured in many ways, so this field can be tricky.  Often it will be “1 map : |b col.” with dimensions in |c.  There can be more than one map on a sheet, or one map on more than one sheet, or one map on both sides of one sheet; if the record doesn’t seem to match the map, consult the map original cataloger. 

Dimensions are measured inside the “neat line,” the line that borders the map.  If the map takes up less than two-thirds of the sheet, include the sheet size as well, and if the map will be stored folded (as in shelf maps stored in their envelopes) include the folded size also (e.g., “2 maps on 1 sheet : ǂb both sides, col., plastic ; ǂc sheet 65 x 96 cm., folded to 24 x 11 cm.”)

If the map has an accompanying booklet or text, verify that 300 |e exists and describes the text accurately; add if not present.  If the same information about the booklet is recorded in a 500 note, remove the note.

490/830: Verify that a series statement exists for series we trace.  Examples are the Surface Management maps and Minerals Management maps from the BLM, and various map series and open file report series from state, federal, and international geological surveys.

5xx: Verify that required notes fields are present and match information on the map.  Notes often needed in map records include:

Relief note: e.g. “Relief shown by contours and spot heights.”  Required if relief is depicted on the map, and the first note in a map record if present.  This note should match the Relf fixed field.  Be careful; some maps, like gravity anomaly maps, have lines that look like contour lines but aren’t, and they actually have no relief depicted.  This is not common but it happens, and map records for such maps often have the relief recorded incorrectly.  Check the legend of the map, which should tell you what the lines actually indicate.  Correct the record if it’s wrong.

Source of title note: list the source of the title, if the title came from somewhere other than the map itself (e.g. “Panel title.”)

“Includes” note: lists items on the map recto, such as inset maps, ancillary maps, cross sections, location maps, other than the map itself and not including the legend or index (e.g., “Includes text, col. ill., index to trails, temperature chart, and 2 index maps.”)  Required if such items are present. Syntax may be found in Cartographic Materials or Catalogers desktop.

“On verso” note: lists items found on the map verso, again not including legend or index.  (If the primary map takes up both sides of the sheet, there is no verso and all additional items are listed in the “Includes” note.)  Required if such items are present.

Notes giving any other information of interest; often these quote text from the map that justifies additional author headings or locations not listed in the map title.

Contents notes, giving titles of ancillary maps or sections of the primary map, if individual titles are present.

Bibliographical references note: usually needed for geologic maps, rarely for any others; the bibliography may be in an accompanying text or on the map sheet.

6xx: Verify that subject headings exist and describe the content of the map.  These can include subject headings (650) that may or may not be subdivided geographically (650 |z), and/or geographic headings (651).  There should be at least one geographic subject heading or subdivision in the record.  If the first heading is a subject, be sure the call number includes a matching subject cutter if possible.  All should have a form subdivision: “|v Maps.”  If subject headings are missing or there are no geographic subject headings or subdivisions, consult with the map original cataloger.

655_7: Form/genre heading for maps from the Library of Congress Genre/Form Thesaurus (e.g., 655_7 Topographic maps |2 lcgft”).  Headings we commonly use include: Topographic maps, Geological maps, Gravity anomaly maps, Road maps, Tourist maps, Outline maps, Index maps.  This field may not be present if none of the terms fit the map, but consult with a map original cataloger if in doubt.

[A special note on FAST headings (Faceted Application of Subject Terminology): These are headings automatically added by OCLC based on the LC subject headings in the 6xx fields.  FAST headings appear in 650 and 655 fields with second indicator 7, and will have “ǂ2 fast” to identify them.  At this time, we are not using FAST headings or adding them if they aren’t present.  Do not confuse them with the subject and form/genre fields that we do want, though.]

700, 710: Verify that any individuals or corporate bodies that are mentioned prominently on the map (other than the one named in the 1xx) also have an access point in a 700 or 710 field, and conversely, that any 7xx fields correspond to an entity named on the map.  Add 7xx fields for any authors that don’t already have them. 

740: Added title for accompanying material (usually text), if it has a distinctive title.  Verify that the title is correct and corresponds to the accompanying material associated with the map.  Add if not present.

The map copy cataloger passes maps to the map original cataloger in several cases:

1. when there is no record in OCLC for the map, so an original record is required.  The original cataloger should inspect the map and search OCLC for a record, as in the copy cataloging procedures; it can be tricky to identify a matching map record and the original cataloger should confirm the findings of the copy cataloger.  If a matching record is found, the original cataloger may return the map to the copy cataloger (with a copy of the record), or catalog the map, depending on the quality of the record found.  If no record is found, the original cataloger may be able to identify similar records that could be used to derive the original record, saving some work;
2. when existing records need extensive revision to be useful locally.  In this case, the original cataloger should consider updating the master record in OCLC;
3. when essential data is missing from the record that the copy cataloger cannot provide, or the copy cataloger believes this data is incorrect.  This data includes call numbers, subject headings, codes in the 043 that the macro does not generate correctly (or at all), and any other questionable data that the map copy cataloger would like a second opinion about.  Particular red flags are noted in the field descriptions under the copy cataloging procedures, but cartographers and map publishers are a creative bunch and those notes are by no means exhaustive.  In this case, the map original cataloger will add or correct the necessary fields and return the map to the map copy cataloger to finish.

All the tag guidelines for copy cataloging maps also apply to original cataloging.  This list contains additional procedures for original cataloging.

043: The codes in the 043 field come from the MARC Code List for Geographic Areas. The OCLC macro produces most 043 codes, but not all, and sometimes you will have to search the list for the closest code to the region or area represented in the map.

050 or 090: The LC Classification G schedule is used to assign call numbers for maps; the call number is based on the first geographic name found in the subject headings.  If the first heading is a subject, be sure the call number includes a matching subject cutter if possible.  The date used in the call number is the date of situation; the date of situation is the date of the information on the map, which may be different from the publication date, though this isn’t common.

052: The 052 is based on the LC call number, and in many cases it will match the class code (the first four digits after the “G”) in the call number.  Create an 052 field for each geographic name present in the subject headings, if not all of them are represented.

1xx: Use individual author’s name if present.  If there is no individual author, use the publishing corporate body if it is well known for publishing maps (like USGS or Rand McNally; there is a list of common corporate authors in a separate document.)  If the publisher is an obscure corporate body, or authorship for the map isn’t apparent, use title main entry with no 1xx. 

245: Use the most prominent title on the map itself as the title proper.  If there is no title on the map, select a title that the user is likely to see, like a panel title or cover title.  If there are several candidate titles, favor a title that contains the most complete description of both the subject and geographic coverage of the map.  Make a note if the title comes from somewhere other than the map itself.  Remove |h [cartographic resources] if present.

6xx: Add subject headings as appropriate.  There should be at least one geographic subject heading or subdivision in the record.  Check the placement of geographic subdivisions carefully; some subdivisions cannot be subdivided geographically, so the geographic subdivision needs to be placed before them.  All should have a form subdivision: “|v Maps.”

655_7: Add form/genre heading for maps from the Library of Congress Genre/Form Thesaurus (e.g., 655_7 Topographic maps |2 lcgft”) as appropriate.  Headings we commonly use include: Topographic maps, Geological maps, Gravity anomaly maps, Road maps, Tourist maps, Outline maps; the complete list of map genre terms can be found in Class Web by searching genre/form terms for the word “map”.  If no genre heading applies, leave this note out.  Do not use the generic form term “Map”.

The Topographic Map Cataloging Project
The U.S. Geological Survey has produced several series of topographic maps, covering the entire United States.  These include 7.5 minute topos (scale 1:24,000), 15 minute topos (scale 1:62,500), the 30 minute topos (scale 1:125,000), and topos at scales 1:100,000 and 1:250,000.  For each of these series, the United States is divided into a series of quadrangles of the size indicated by the scale, and the quadrangles are named for a feature near the center of the quad.  The quadrangles have stayed constant over time, and maps in the series are revised on a recurring basis.  In addition, some topo maps have more than one version: provisional versions and versions with vegetated areas overprinted in green, for example.  The Forest Service has also produced their own versions of these quads.

In 2010, Tech Services and the staff at the Geology Library undertook a project to catalog all the USGS 7.5 minute quads covering the state of Wyoming.  These maps had not been cataloged before.  To catalog such a large number of maps efficiently, and produce clearer search results for patrons, these quads were cataloged by creating generic bibliographic records, one for each quad.  The generic bib records contain all the standard descriptive data and access points for a fully cataloged map, but date and edition information is omitted.  The bib records also contain a local call number, again without date information (see the "Local Call Numbers for Maps" tab for call number formats.)  Item records are created for each map depicting that quad, and an item level call number is assigned with date and edition information included.  Forest Service maps were cataloged on a separate record, also using a generic bib and specific item level call number.  As an example, see the records for the Abiathar Peak quadrangle, Wyoming (.b36154805 and .b36154830.)

Once the Wyoming 7.5 minute quads were cataloged, the project was extended to include 15 minute and 30 minute quads.  Complications arose with these maps, because some had already been cataloged.  We decided to continue to use the generic bib - specific item plan for new records, but not to recatalog maps with existing records.  We are also cataloging 7.5 minute quads from states other than Wyoming.  This project is ongoing at the Geology Library.

Topo Maps in the Geology Library
Topographic maps in the Geology Library receive no special processing treatment.  Process according to the procedures for other maps.

Special Instructions for Hebard Topo Maps
Special Collections has a designated location for topo maps, Hebard Map Topo (wshmt in the item record location.)  When creating a call number for a map in this location, do not include the TOPO prefix (WY Abiathar Peak 7.5 min rather than TOPO WY Abiathar Peak 7.5 min; this is to prevent "Topo" from appearing twice on the label.)

Most 7.5 minute quads are not encapsulated; topos at other scales, and topos of Yellowstone, are encapsulated.

The 15 and 30 minute topos for Wyoming were cataloged already, prior to the topo cataloging project.  The maps are in portrait orientation and labels and barcodes were affixed to the bottom right corner as a user would view the map.  These maps are now being housed in a small drawer in landscape orientation, and are encapsulated with one long edge open.  To keep the position of the labels on the new maps consistent with the older maps, the labels are still placed in the lower right corner as the map is read, or the upper right corner as the map lays in the drawer.  In the picture below, the top of the map is to the left, the open edge of the encapsulation is at the top, and the label and barcode are in the upper right corner (this is how the map will lay in the drawer.)

A few sets of government document maps get local call numbers.  These maps are usually located in Hebard Map Topo, Hebard Map Small, or Geology Map.  In the following templates, words in square brackets are substitutions, and words and numbers not in square brackets are included in the call number as written. 

BLM Surface and minerals management maps
BLM 1:100,000 surface management: [Quad name] WY [year] BLM 100000 SM
         Example: Afton WY 2002 BLM 100000 SM

BLM 1:100,000 minerals management: [Quad name] WY [year] BLM 100000 SMM

Topographic maps
For topographic maps going to Geology, prefix the call number with TOPO.  Some of the maps in the topo series have multiple versions, which are distinguished by the suffix on the call number.  Possible suffixes include:

USGS 1:250,000 quads: [State abbreviation] [Quad name] [year] 250000 [suf]

USGS 1:100,000 quads: [State abbreviation] [Quad name] [year] 100000 [suf]

USGS 1:125,000 quads (30 minute quads): [Quad name] [year] 30 min [suf]
           Example: CO Apishapa 1897 30 min

USGS 1:62,500 quads (15 minute quads): [Quad name] [year] 15 min [suf]
           Example: ID Yandell Springs 1955 15 min veg

USGS and Forest Service 1:24,000 quads (7.5 minute quads): TOPO [State abbreviation] [Quad name] 7.5 min

Other local call numbers for maps
Army Map Service 1:250,000 quads: [Quad name] WY [year] s250

1. Add local 9xx tags to the record: We add two local tags to bib records before exporting them: the 901 and 949.  The 901 contains fields we use for statistics gathering; the 949 passes loading instructions to Sierra. The format of the 901 is:

901  [yyyymmdd] |b [init] |c [type] |d [level] [|e RUSH[ [|f team]  

where

yyyymmdd is the current date;

init is the catalogers initials;

type is either “new”, “part”, or “recon” (“part” will be uncommon for maps);

level is “DLCCopy” for records from the Library of Congress, or “MCopy” for records from any other library;

RUSH if the map was cataloged as a rush title;

Team if significant work was done on the record by more than one cataloger (this will be rare with maps.)

For example:

901  20120817 |b pb |c new |d DLCCopy

The 949 varies depending on where the map is to be housed, Geology or Hebard:

949  *recs=b;bn=wg;b2=e;ov=;          for Geology

949  *recs=b;bn=ws;b2=e;ov=;          for Hebard

If Acquisitions has already added a bib record for the map into Sierra, you will need to overlay it with the record you have edited.  This is done by adding the bib record number for the record to be overlaid:

949  *recs=b;bn=wg;b2=e;ov=.b12345678;

2. Export to Sierra: in OCLC, F5.  OCLC will display a message box saying the gateway export has succeeded.

Geology maps:

It isn’t necessary to create an item record for Geology maps.  The staff at the Geology Library will determine how they want the maps stored, and will barcode and label them accordingly and create the item record.

Hebard maps:

1. In Sierra, search for the record you just exported, and open it in Summary view (click the Summary button.)
2. In the “View” dropdown, make sure “Item” is selected.  Click the “Attach New Item” button.
3. Select the HeMapNew template. (Item type will be 8 “Noncirculating” and status ”y” “In Process”.)
4. In the “e” MFHD_ID field, enter your initials, and click “Next”.
5. Assign a barcode to the map.  Do not attach it to the map at this time; the barcode will be attached to the encapsulation once that is done.  Scan the barcode into the “b” field in the item record.
6. For maps with multiple sheets, enter the sheet number in the “v” field: e.g., v  Sheet 1.
7. Save the item record.

Additional note for original cataloging only:  In some circumstances, it is desirable to assign an item level call number to a map.  These circumstances include:

• A copy of a federal document is purchased as a permanent part of the collection.  Maps received under the Federal Depository Library Program are cataloged using SuDoc call numbers; purchased copies of these maps are added to the existing bib record but need to be classed using LCC;
• Maps separated from a monograph for preservation purposes are stored in the map drawers and classed using the G schedule of the LCC.  Usually, their item records are attached to the bib record for the monograph, which will have a different call number (there is a separate policy and procedure document for separated maps, which includes a description of circumstances where these maps are cataloged separately);
• Added copies of maps may get a different call number from existing copies, if the added copies go to a different location and the Geology Librarian or Special Collections Librarian requests it;
• At the request of the Geology Librarian or Special Collections Librarian.

Create the item level call number in the “c 090” field of the item record.

If the map is folded or rolled, flatten the map by laying it on a large table and setting weights (usually, obsolete cataloging standards books) on the map to hold it down.  Flattening the map can be done at any point during the cataloging process, but it is often convenient to keep the map folded or partially folded while it’s being handled for cataloging.

The type, condition, and final destination of the map determine whether or not it should be encapsulated.  Geology maps are encapsulated fully closed, while Hebard maps are encapsulated with the top edge left open, so the destination of the map must be noted when it is taken to Processing for encapsulation.  The map cataloger will need to determine if they require encapsulation, based on the following guidelines:

Geology maps:

Most Geology maps are not encapsulated.  Exceptions are the first copy of a Wyoming map, and maps that are fragile or damaged.  Geology will keep up to four copies of Wyoming maps; the first is encapsulated, the rest are not.  Geology generally only keeps one copy of maps of other locations, though some exceptions are made as determined by the Geology Library faculty and staff.

If the map copy cataloger receives a Wyoming map for Geology, check the catalog to see if any other copies already exist in the Geology collection.  If this is the first copy, attach a note indicating that the map is to be encapsulated for Geology and returned to the map copy cataloger.  Retain the paperwork and barcode for the map, and take it to the encapsulation table.

If the map copy cataloger receives a map for Geology that is torn, damaged, or fragile (check especially along any fold creases), attach a note indicating that the map is to be encapsulated for Geology and returned to the map copy cataloger. Retain the paperwork and barcode for the map, and take it to the encapsulation table.

Hebard maps:

The majority of maps in the Hebard Historic Map Collection are encapsulated. Maps that come plastic-coated, and 7.5' topo maps, are exceptions and are not encapsulated; however, topo maps of Yellowstone National Park are encapsulated.

There are some special circumstances to take into account when deciding how to encapsulate a map for the Hebard collection.  Maps need to fit into the smallest drawer possible.  This means that some maps oriented with the shortest edge at the top and bottom may need to be rotated 90 degrees to fit into a smaller drawer.  The labels on maps should not obscure any cartographic information on the map, but frequently maps are printed without blank margins so there is no place to put the label that doesn’t hide part of the map.  In this case, the encapsulation should be extended one inch on the right side as the map lays in the drawer, to accommodate the label.

If the map copy cataloger receives a map for Hebard that needs encapsulation, attach a note to the map indicating that the map is to be encapsulated for Hebard and returned to the map copy cataloger.  Include any special processing instructions as noted above.  Retain the paperwork and barcode for the map, and take it to the encapsulation table. 

Once the map has been encapsulated, check the size of the map, including encapsulation, and change the location of the map according to the drawer size guidelines, if necessary:

For all encapsulated maps (Hebard and Geology), attach the barcode assigned to the map to the encapsulation (not the map itself), at the bottom of the map near the right corner as the map will sit in the drawer (leave room for the label.)  Create a temp slip for the map, containing the call number, author, and the first few words from the title, and your initials and date of cataloging.  Attach the temp slip near where the label should be affixed, adding special labeling instructions if necessary.Take the map to Processing for labeling.