First Year Students' Guide to UW Libraries

What is a keyword?

• A keyword is an informative word used to describe the content of a document.
• For example, keywords are words/phrases you can type into a search bar and will locate books, articles, and other library resources with content relevant to the entered word/phrase.

In generating keywords/search terms for your keyword searches:

• Consider the transition theory (Examples: Transition theory, student development theory, etc.)
• Consider the name of the author (Examples: Arthur Chickering, Nancy Schlossberg)
• Consider adding additional words (Examples: veteran, civilian transition, etc.)
• Pro-Tip: Use the asterisk ( * or shift-8 key) to increase search results (Example: veteran* will return hits for veteran AND veterans)

Please refer to library reference materials (books, online encyclopedias, etc.) for additional information, or contact a librarian at coeref@uwyo.edu for further assistance with keywords and keyword searching in the library system.

There are four specific databases within the Education subject listing, although two are titled "ERIC." One is the direct site with the US Government and the other is a more complete version available through the publisher, EBSCO. In addition there are two Psychology and one  Sociology databases that are recommended. All five of these databases will be the best resources for finding peer-reviewed, scholarly articles related to transition theories.

All education databases can be accessed at this link.

All psychology databases can be accessed at this link.

All sociology databases can be accessed at this link.

All available bibliographic databases can be located at this link.