Your bibliography should be alphabetized by author last name. For works that do not have an author, alphabetize by item title (omitting articles like "a" or "the"). Your bibliography should also be formatted using hanging indents.
Journal Article
Last Name, First Name MI. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Mon. Year, pp. #-#. Database, doi if listed
Baron, Naomi S. “Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communication Media.” PMLA, vol. 128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.
Goldman, Anne. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante.” The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, spring 2010, pp. 69-
88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41403188.
Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or reference book
Last Name, First Name MI. “Title of Article.” Reference Source Title, edited by First Name Last Name, vol. #, Publisher, Year Published, pp. #-#.
Online Publisher, https://xxxx
Botterill, Steven N. “Angela Da Foligno, Saint.” Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia, edited by Christopher Kleinhenz et al., vol. 1, Routledge, 2004,
pp. 35-36. Google Books, books.google.com/.
Basic Book Format
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.
- Book with more than one author
- Last name, First Name and First Name Last Name.
- Books with 3+ authors
- Last name, First Name et al.
Edited Book
Last name, First name MI., editor. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Year
Sánchez Prado, Ignacio M., editor. Mexican Literature in Theory. Bloomsbury, 2018.
Chapter in a Book
Copeland, Edward. “Money.” The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen, Edited by Copeland and Juliet McMaster, Cambridge UP, 1997, pp. 131-
48.
Poe, Edgar Allan. "The Masque of the Red Death." The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe, edited by James A. Harrison, vol. 4, Thomas Y.
Crowell, 1902, pp. 250-58. HathiTrust Digital Library, babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=coo.3192407957368;view=1up;seq=266.
Newspaper Articles
Online:
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication if not stated in newspaper title], Day Month Year of
Publication, URL.
In-print or through database:
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication if not stated in newspaper title], Day Month Year of
Publication, pp. Page Numbers if given. Database Name.
Web sites
Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of website, Day Mon. Year, website link
If no author name, “Article Title.” should be the first part of your citation.
Deresiewicz, William. “The Death of the Artist—and the Birth of the Creative Entrepreneur.” The Atlantic, 28 Dec. 2014,
theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2015/01/ the-death-of-the-artist-and-the-birth-of-thecreative-entrepreneur/383497/.
“Acoustical Recording.” Library of Congress, 2022, https://www.loc.gov/collections/national-jukebox/articles-and-essays/acoustical-recording/.
Films
Note that in this example, the optional original date of publication is included, as well as several people in the Other Contributors category. If you were studying a particular person associated with the work, that person could be listed in the Author position, like so:
"Capra, Frank, director." It’s a Wonderful Life. 1946. Directed by Frank Capra, Performance by James Stewart et al., Republic, 2001.
Television Episodes
Whether you decide to put the episode director into the author position or not depends on the show and your use of the show in your writing. If the show features episodes with distinct story lines or dramatic styles, the director for each episode may take on authorial importance, otherwise the creator or director of the series as a whole may be placed in the author position. If no one takes authorial importance for your work, place the title of the episode in the first position.
Bernstein, Adam director. "Hazard Pay." Breaking Bad, season 5, episode 3, High Bridge Productions et al., 29 Jul 2012.
"Hush." Buffy the Vampire Slayer, created by Joss Whedon, performance by Sarah Michelle Geller, season 4, episode 10, Mutant Enemy, 1999.
Image or Artwork
If you view it first hand, the Location is the physical location of the work. If you view a reproduction, follow the standard rules for Containers. If your image has no title, give a brief description of the item in the title location. Do not include quotation marks or italicize this description.
DaVinci, Leonardo. Mona Lisa. 1503?, Louvre Museum, Paris.
DaVinci, Leonado. Mona Lisa. 1503?, Wikipedia, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mona_Lisa,_by_Leonardo_da_Vinci,_from_C2RMF_retouched.jpg. Image of cat. 2016, img1.wsimg.com/fos/sales/cwh/8/images/cats-with-hats-shop-06.jpg. Work in a series.
Clowes, Daniel. David Boring. Eightball, no. 19, Fantagraphics, 1998.