LibGuides: First Year Students' Guide to UW Libraries: GEOG 1101

Welcome!

Sources for Disaster Information on the Web

FEMA: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Information about U.S. government response to disasters including disaster declarations, flood mapping, response planning, and emergency perparedness.
American Red Cross: Types of Emergencies
Tips to prepare, respond, and recover from emergencies. Includes 22 emergency topics.
EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database
Data from the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters on human impacts, economic damage, and international aid.
Relief Web
Relief Web provides information on disasters through the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
Global Disaster Alert and Coordination System (GDACS)
GDACS is a cooperation framework between the United Nations, the European Commission and disaster managers worldwide to improve alerts, information exchange and coordination in the first phase after major sudden-onset disasters.
Natural Disaster news coverage from The Guardian
The Guardian's journalists cover natural disasters from all over the world
Ready.gov's Emergency Preparedness Resources
Ready is a National public service campaign designed to educate and empower the American people to prepare for, respond to and mitigate emergencies, including natural and man-made disasters. The goal of the campaign is to promote preparedness through public involvement.
National Geographic Natural Disasters & Weather
News and background information on all types of natural disaster. Browsable by type of hazard.
NASA Earth Observatory's Natural Events
Articles and background information on many types of hazards and current events. Browsable by topic.

Real Time Disaster Updates

Wildfires in the West from the New York Times
You can also subscribe to daily updates
Current Volcanic Eruptions from Global Volcanism Program
An eruption listed here might have ended since the last data update, or at the update time a firm end date had not yet been determined due to potential renewed activity. Complete updates are done about every 6-8 weeks, but information about newer eruptions can be found in the Weekly Report.
Earthquake Monitoring- USGS PAGER system
The PAGER system provides fatality and economic loss impact estimates following significant earthquakes worldwide.
Drought Monitor
The U.S. Drought Monitor is produced through a partnership between the National Drought Mitigation Center at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the United States Department of Agriculture, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
InciWeb
Current information on wild and prescribed fires in the USA from the National Wildfire Coordinating Group.
NOAA National Hurricane Center
News and information on tropical storms and hurricanes. Covers Atlantic and Eastern Pacific storms.
Worldwide Flood Information
Floodlist reports on all the major flood events from around the world. By doing so, they aim to raise awareness of the risks of flooding and the devastation caused by the increasing number and severity of flood events.

Newspaper Searching

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Choose the continent where your disaster is occurring from the list below and search using your keywords (ex. "Hurricane Maria"). You can search each week to see what other stories are published as the disaster and aftermath evolve.

UW's New York Times Access
New users will need to go to accessnyt.com, select University of Wyoming – Laramie, Wyoming from the drop-down menu, then follow the instructions to create an account.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese.

Looking for up to date information on your disaster?

These newspaper databases can help you to find recent and developing stories from around the world.

Many of the newspapers linked do not include images. You can find images specific to your disaster/event through these resources.

Flickr Creative Commons
Image database of Flickr photos released under creative commons licenses.
Wikimedia Commons
Multimedia repository of images, audio and video that is freely usable.
NASA Earth Observatory Images
The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about the environment, Earth systems, and climate that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and models.