LibGuides: First Year Students' Guide to UW Libraries: Geography

Keyword Tips

Welcome to the Geography page!

Developing keywords can be one of the hardest parts about conducting research at UW Libraries.

Some tips for finding resources for your geography research:

Consider using a specific region or country as a keyword if you are struggling finding city specific resources
Consider the climate, landscape, and ecosystems you may need in your research
There may be similar words you can add to your search terms to ensure you find the most relevant search results such as "climate change" OR "global warming"

Secondary Sources

UW Libraries has a large selection of databases related to Geography. You can view all of them here.

Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.

Primary Sources

WyGISC Data & Applications
WyGISC is involved in developing a variety of web-based geospatial applications. The center also creates and maintains various products including geospatial data on behalf of its clients and partners.
US Census Data
Explore population data and other US Census data.
UW Libraries- Finding and Using Maps

Reference & Books

The Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S.G. Thomas
ISBN: 9781118782309
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography. Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.
A Dictionary of Human Geography by Alisdair Rogers; Noel Castree; Rob Kitchin
ISBN: 9780199599868
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
A Dictionary of Human Geography is a brand new addition to Oxford's Paperback Reference Series, offering over 2,000 clear and concise entries on human geography terms. From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organizations, and major periods and schools in the history of human geography, it provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.