LibGuides: African American & Diaspora Studies: Videos and Images

Video Databases and UW Resources

I Am Somebody (1970)
30 mins. In 1969, 400 underpaid black women go on strike to demand union recognition.

Sixties Video Titles This link opens in a new window
The video specific collection of The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 with 50 hours of footage, On the Alexander Street platform.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage surveying the evolution of Black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
History streaming media database that includes primary sources (newsreels and archival footage and educational videos from PBS, History Channel and other sources. On the Alexander Street Press platform.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
The March of Time From 1935-1967 is a groundbreaking American short-film series now available as online streaming video. Most covered poltical, economic, and military events or current affairs.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The Library and WGBH are overseeing the digitization of approximately 40,000 hours of programs selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation, dating from the 1940s to the 21st century. This collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level.

Black Art & Artists | National Gallery of Art
A collection of works by black artists across time, mediums, and locations. Ranging from the 19th to 21st centuries.
African American Art | Smithsonian American Art Museum
A collection of African American art through the Smithsonian. Materials span three centuries under a variety of mediums and subject matter.