LibGuides: African American & Diaspora Studies: Biographies

Biographical Reference Books

African American National Biography by Henry Loius Gates Jr.
Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008, Coe Reference Level 2
ISBN: 0195160193
Publication Date: 2008
Also available online in the Oxford African American Studies Center.
100 Greatest African Americans: A Biographical Encyclopedia by Molefi Kete Asante
Call Number: E185.96 .A83 2002, Coe Reference Level 2
ISBN: 1573929638
Publication Date: 2002

African-Ameican Biographies | Infoplease
A website offering free access to succinct biographies of notable African-American individuals.
Black History | Biography.com
A website covering a wide expanse of African-American achievements, movements, and figures. Currently maintains over 3,000 profiles.
Biographies - National Women's History Museum
A collection of female biographies through the National Women's History Museum. Offers a wide range of topics such as the Abolition Movement, Civil Rights, and Equal Rights.
Poets of the Harlem Renaissance
Provides a description of the history and practices found within the Harlem Renaissance cultural movement of the 1920s and 1930s. Includies biographies of notable African-American poets during that time.

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary biographical database that summarizes and indexes other biographical tools. On the Gale platform.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
British biographical database that includes illustrated essays on prominent U.K. and Commonwealth figures. On the Oxford platform. Simultaneous user limit of 1.