LibGuides: African American & Diaspora Studies: Articles

General//Background Resources

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference database that includes encyclopedia articles from Encyclopædia Britannica, primary sources, and media. On the Britannica platform.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary reference database that combines sources in archaeology, art, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, English, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, music, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology and social sciences. On the Oxford platform. Simultaneous user limit of 5.
Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text database including articles from journals, reference sources, and the New York Times. On a Gale platform.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events full-text magazine that provides overview articles on "hot topics" back to 1991. On the CQPress platform.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Current events full-text database the collects materials (articles, reference books, media) on controversial issues. On the Gale In Context platform.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
History indexing database that covers American and Canadian journal articles back to 1910. On the EBSCOhost platform. Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
History indexing/full-text database that combines journal articles, documents, reference sources, primary sources and media into research topics. On the Gale In Context platform.

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Military indexing/full-text database that covers news sources for those in the armed forces. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles back to 1985. On the ProQuest platform.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social science indexing database covering journal articles and citation information back to 1956. Part of Web of Science on the Web of Knowledge platform.

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
African-American Music Reference is a comprehensive reference database that chronicles the rich history of African-American music through 1970. It offers comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Resources include biographies, anthologies, encyclopedias, images, lyrics (digitized and fully searchable), song sheets, chronologies, critical textbooks, a comprehensive discography of the top African-American artists, and links to editorially selected Web resources.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The Fine Arts & Music Collection includes 10.4 million articles on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

Journal Search
Search journals by title, ISSN, or subject category.
Newspapers
Complete your search query through QuickSearch. On your results page, look to the left hand side for the result filters. Under Content Type, scroll to the bottom and select "Newspapers search."

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).

The Black Scholar
Call Number: E185.5 .B575 & Available Online
African American Review by Modern Language Association of American
Call Number: Closed Stacks: PS153.N5 N4x & Available Online
Publication Date: 1992-
Journal of African American studies (New Brunswick, N.J. : Online) by Springer Science
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2003-
Interdisciplinary journal looking at social transformations impacting the life chances of Africans and African diaspora. Original research on the social progress of individuals of African descent.
The Journal of African American History by Association for the Study of African American Life and History
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2002-

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African-American full-text archive that reproduces full runs of newspapers from 35 states. A subset of America's Historic Newspapers on the Readex platform.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
This digital collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Historic full-text archive that reproduces books; pamphlets; magazine and newspaper articles; court cases and manuscript collections from 1700 to early 20th century. On the Gale platform.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper indexing/full-text archive that reproduces papers from 1836 to 1922 and a directory that covers 1690 to present. On a Library of Congress platform.