LibGuides: African American & Diaspora Studies: Slavery & Civil War

Databases

Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865 This link opens in a new window
African American archival database that provides primary sources from those that worked on abolition of slavery from 1830 to 1865. On the ProQuest platform.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
History archival database that includes primary sources including newspaper articles and pamphlets from 1840 to 1865. On the ProQuest platform.
Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new window
Includes letters, diaries, administrative recores, photographs, and illustrations from the New-York Historical Society's Civil War collection.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Searchable American Civil War database contains diaries and memoirs from 2,009 authors. On the Alexander Street Press platform.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Searchable Civil War database that includes electronic access to HarpWeek's collection of 40+ original 19th century newspapers and magazines. On the Alexander Street Press platform.
Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new window
Searchable American Civil War database containing photos, posters, and ephemera. On the Alexander Street Press platform.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
A collection of more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery with 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. On the Library of Congress site.
Civil War Maps
A collection of approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks from the period. On the Library of Congress site.
National Park Service Soldiers and Sailors System
An online database compiled from historical records by the US National Park Service of all known soldiers and sailors of the Union and the Confederacy. Data can be searched by name, date, state, and other facets.