Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About These Resources
This page includes outside research, teaching, general, and support resources for African American and Diaspora Studies.
Research and Teaching Resources
AADS Resources from the NYPL
A collection of resources and guides related to African American and Diaspora Studies from the New York Public Library.
Research Guides from the Library of Congress
A collection of African American Studies research guides from the Library of Congress.
Digital Collections - African American History
Digital collections listings for the African American History subject from the Library of Congress.
Amistad Research Center at Tulane University
The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
African American Studies: Useful Resources
Research guide containing links to digital collections and more from Pepperdine University.
Teacher's Guide: African American History and Culture in the United States
Offers a collection of lessons and resources for K-12 social studies, literature, and arts classrooms that center around the achievements, perspectives, and experiences of African Americans across U.S. history.
African American History at the National Archives
This page highlights wealth of material and resources documenting the Black experience online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
Resources in African American Studies for Instructors
From Wayne County Community College District, compiled by Dr. Ella J. Davis.
Archives and Museums
Tuskegee University Archives
Documents the history and growth of Tuskegee University by identifying, collecting, preserving, arranging, and describing records having permanent legal, fiscal, and/or administrative value in documenting the history of the administrative offices, the academic departments, and Tuskegee University related organizations, as well as the activities of its faculty, staff, and students.
Archives Research Center at the Atlanta University Center Archives
Collections that primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.
Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection at the Chicago Public Library
The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature documents the Black experience with a strong focus on Chicago.
Black History at the National Archives
Research and online collections of materials from the National Archives.
African American Perpectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection at the Library of Congress
African American Perspectives gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection (1822-1909).
National Museum of African American History and Culture at the Smithsonian
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans.
Black Women's Suffrage Archive from the Digital Public Library of America
The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
General and Support Resources
BlackPast is dedicated to providing a global audience with reliable and accurate information on the history of African America and of people of African ancestry around the world. We aim to promote greater understanding through this knowledge to generate constructive change in our society.
Safe Black Space
Safe Black Space provides culturally specific strategies and resources to help Black people heal from historical and current wounds, both individually and collectively.
Resources for Organizations Working with African American Communities
Contains educational and outreach resources at the regional and national level.
BIPOC Mental Health Resources
Includes links to health and wellness resources for the Black community.