LibGuides: UWYO 1101/1600/3600: Military Veterans: Veteran Transition Theories

Chickering's Student Development Theory (Identity)

Use any of the databases listed in the box above to search for academic information.

Chickering's theory is sometimes referred to as "student development" or "ego development" theory.

"Seven vectors" is also a term used in literature about this theory.

This link will locate books written or co-authored by Arthur W. Chickering that are available in the UW Libraries.

Kegan's Adult Development Theory (Orders-of-the-Mind)

Use any of the databases listed in the box above to search for academic information.

Kegan's theory is referred to as "adult development" or "orders of the mind" theory.

This link will locate books and sources written by Robert Kegan that are available at UW Libraries.

Schlossberg's Transition Theory (Transition)

Use any of the databases listed in the box above to search for academic information.

Schlossberg's Transition Theory is sometimes referred to in the literature as a "model."

This link will locate Nancy Schlossberg's texts in the UW Collections.

Tinto's Model of Understanding Student Veteran's (Persistence)

Use any of the databases listed in the box above to search for academic information.

In the academic literature Tinto's model is sometimes referred to as "theory." In addition, the words "retention", "attrition", and "withdrawal" are also found in article titles.

This link will locate books and other sources written by Vincent Tinto and that are available at UW Libraries.

Useful Databases for Information on Transition Theories

Tips for Searching

Less is more. Try searching first for one term such as "Schlossberg." Add additional words such as "veteran."
Use synonyms: e.g., "model" AND "theory."
Use the vocabulary of that field of research: e.g., "hypertension" instead of "high blood pressure."
Keep track of which words you use in a notebook or an online document.
Look at the keywords and subject headings provided in the text of articles and books, or in the filters section of databases.
Use quotation marks to find exact matches.
Send the article to your UW email address so you don't have to search a second time. Link to the article will be in the message.
Look at the bibliography of any articles you do locate. Find those articles or books.
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or limit search results. Boolean operators must be in capital letters.

The following databases will be the best ones to search for information related to your assignment.

Useful Academic Books

Student Development in College by Nancy J. Evans; Deanna S. Forney; Florence M. Guido; Kristen A. Renn; Lori D. Patton The second edition of Student Development in College offers higher education professionals a clear understanding of the developmental challenges facing today's college students. Thoroughly revised and updated, this edition includes new integrative theories of student development, expanded coverage of social identity theories, a targeted focus on higher education-related research, a current review of student development research and application, and reconceptualization of typology theories as a way to understand individual differences. Praise for the Second Edition of STUDENT DEVELOPMENT IN COLLEGE "Student Development in College is a rich, comprehensive exploration of the major theoretical perspectives that inform development. The authors' attention to nuances and complexities results in a substantive history of theory development and a careful story about how various perspectives evolved yielding contemporary theorizing. The book is a masterful blend of theoretical lenses and their use in designing developmentally appropriate practice for diverse populations of contemporary college students. It is an excellent resource for all educators who work on college campuses." --Marcia Baxter Magolda, Distinguished Professor, Educational Leadership, Miami University "This is an invaluable work for anyone seeking an introduction to college student development theories or those seeking to update their existing knowledge. It offers a thorough and complex review of both the foundational theories and the newer--often more culturally relevant--theories and models." --Raechele L. Pope, program coordinator, Higher Education Program, University at Buffalo "The original book was a tremendous contribution to the field of higher education and especially student affairs. After more than ten years, this revision is a timely and focused enhancement to the literature that nurtures quality professionals to think differently about topics relevant to our field. Well done a second time around!" --Gregory Roberts, executive director, ACPA--College Student Educators International
Call Number: LB2343.4 .E88 2010
ISBN: 9780787978099
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Counseling Adults in Transition by Mary Louise Anderson; Jane Goodman; Nancy K. Schlossberg The only textbook explicitly designed to address counseling with adults who are coping with individual, relationship, and work transitions, this volume integrates the basic tenets of adult development with therapeutic practice. It is based on Schlossberg's theory of transitions, a new process and content model that offers effective techniques for helping adults to understand and successfully navigate normal life transitions. This revised edition addresses contemporary societal ills that exacerbate adult life transitions, such as a tumultuous economy, increased unemployment, bankruptcies, and foreclosures, and focuses on our increasing racial and cultural diversity. The volume also expands its consideration of spiritual and social justice issues and provides a more integrated and holistic approach to adult transitional counseling. Key Features of the New Edition: Based on Schlossberg's technique, a new model for counseling adults in transition Offers practical new strategies and exercises for use in transitional counseling Addresses unemployment and coping in an uncertain social/economic context Focuses on loss and resilience, diversity, culture, social justice, and spirituality Contains new sections on transitioning to adulthood, living arrangements including diverse family structures, mobility, siblings, in-laws, and retirement Introduces new concepts such as collectivist coping, hardiness, mindfulness, and transcendence
Call Number: BF637.C6 S325 2012
ISBN: 9780826106353
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
College Student Development and Academic Life by Ilda Carreiro King (Editor); Karen Arnold (Editor); Philip G. Altbach (Editor) First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: LA229 .C62 1997
ISBN: 0815326637
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
College Student Retention by John H. Schuh (Contribution by); Daniel W. Salter (Contribution by); Alexander W. Astin (Contribution by); Joseph B. Berger (Contribution by); Alberto F. Cabrera (Contribution by); Susan Lyons (Contribution by); Vincent Tinto (Contribution by) Although access to higher education is virtually universally available, college student retention stills remains a vexing and puzzling problem for educators and legislators. In College Student Retention: Formula for Student Success, second edition, Alan Seidman deals with this problematic issue by examining a number of areas critical to the retention of students, including the history, the theories and concepts, models, and a standardized definition of the term. Seidman and his contributors also lay out the financial implications and trends of retention in one of their updated chapters. Completely new to this edition are three chapters that examine several recent issues: the current theories of retention, retention of online students, and retention in community colleges. Tying all of these components together, Seidman then presents his formula and highly successful model for student success that colleges can implement to effect change in retaining students and helping them to complete their academic and personal goals.
Call Number: LC148.2 .C65 2012
ISBN: 9781442212527
Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Reworking the Student Departure Puzzle by John M. Braxton (Editor) More than a quarter of the students who enter four-year institutions and half of those who enter two-year schools depart at the end of their first year. This phenomenon is known as the "departure puzzle," and for years, the most important body of work on student retention has come from sociologist Vincent Tinto. The contributors, including Tinto himself, offer a variety of both theoretical and methodological perspectives to the Student Departure Puzzle.
Call Number: LC148.15 .R48 2000
ISBN: 0826513085
Publication Date: 2000-11-27

Useful Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed. by James W. Guthrie, ed. This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 002865594X
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Human Development and Education by R. Murray Thomas (Editor) This Encyclopedia is a collection of 100 articles which examine various theories and aspects of human development and their significance for education, child raising, and counselling practices throughout the world.
Call Number: BF713 .E65 1990
ISBN: 0080334083
Publication Date: 1990-03-29