Wyoming National Guard Quick Facts
Timeline:
April 4, 1870: Wyoming Militia established by General Order 1
November 1889: Wyoming Girl Guard organized
July 10, 1890: Col. James W. Meldrum becomes the state's first Adjutant General
March 1894: First field artillery unit formed in Rawlins
May 2, 1898: Wyoming soldiers mustered to federal service for the Spanish-American War
August 1917: Wyoming National Guard soldiers enter World War I
August 10, 1946: Wyoming Air National Guard is created
April 1, 1951: Wyoming Air National Guard ordered to federal service for the Korean War
1972: Wyoming Air National Guard begins flying C-130s
1990: Wyoming National Guard activated to support Operations Desert Storm/Desert Shield
November 10, 1997: Wyoming Air National Guard supports Operation Tempest Rapid
September 11, 2001: Wyoming Air National Guard is the first unit to resume flying after the World Trade Center is hit
December 2001: Wyoming Air National Guard activated for Operation Enduring Freedom
January 2004: Wyoming Air National Guard activated for Operation Iraqi Freedom
Image: National Guard Marching Through Laramie, 1890s, Coll. 176, Elmer F. Lovejoy Papers, AHC.
Information from the Wyoming National Guard
Wyoming National Guard Collections
Acc. #11511
A.G. Belcher served in the Wyoming National Guard early in the twentieth century. In 1916, he joined the Cheyenne Company and served near the Mexican border in Deming, New Mexico, during 1916 and 1917.
The collection contains two unpublished manuscripts written by Belcher entitled, "Wyoming Guard Trains for Combat" and "Army Volunteers, 1916," that are about his experiences serving in the Wyoming National Guard.
Camp Amos W. Barber Photograph, 1891
Acc. #11704
Camp Amos W. Barber served as a Wyoming National Guard encampment. In August 1891, a gathering of National Guard troops from across the state occurred outside of Laramie and the camp was named for the then governor of Wyoming.
The collection includes a photograph of Camp Amos W. Barber from August 1891.
Francis H. DeCastro Papers, 1881-1925
Acc. #4717
Francis H. DeCastro was a Civil War veteran that served in the 3rd Infantry Regiment of the Wyoming National Guard. After serving, DeCastro spent time in Kimball, Nebraska, and Douglas, Wyoming.
The collection contains military orders, artifacts, and other documents that related to DeCastro's military career. Also in the collection is correspondence and other personal papers.
Jim Erdmann Films, circa 1945-1960
#10594
Jim and Jean were amateur filmmakers from Cheyenne, Wyoming.
The collection includes 16 mm films shot by the Erdmanns including footage of Washington D.C. near the end of World War II and Camp Guernsey in Wyoming. The Camp Guernsey film includes shots of the camp as well as the National Guard training.
John W. Meldrum Papers, 1854-1938
Acc. #4338
John W. Meldrum served as acting governor when Wyoming was admitted to statehood in 1890. He also served as inspector general for the Wyoming National Guard.
The collection contains a letterbook of official correspondence from Meldrum's time as inspector general of the Wyoming National Guard.
Charles J. Wing Papers, 1954-2007
Acc. #11223
Charles J. Wing enlisted in the Wyoming National Guard in 1949. Upon graduating from the University of Wyoming, Wing commissioned through the ROTC program and served as active duty until 1957. From 1958 to 1995, Wing served in the Wyoming Army National Guard.
The collection contains photographs, biographies, and other materials about Wing's career in the Wyoming National Guard.