American Heritage Center, Military History Subject Guide: Additional Resources

Due to the nature of archival collections at the AHC, patrons are asked to follow the recommended citation format. More information about citing archival sources can be found here.

Footnote/Endnote:

Item Description, Date, Box Number, Folder Number, Collection Number, Collection Name, American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming.

Example:

Letter, Dennis Allen to Stan Lee, October 26, 1976, box 13, folder 4, Coll. 8302, Stan Lee Papers, American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming.

Bibliography:

Collection Name. Collection Number. American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming. 

Example:

Grace Raymond Hebard papers. Coll. 400008. American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming.

Further resources available at the University of Wyoming can be found at the links below.

Coe Library

Digital Collections at the AHC

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections Library

Further resources published by the State of Wyoming can be found at the links below. 

Annals of Wyoming

Buffalo Bill Center of the West

• Digital Collection
• McCracken Research Library. The Archon database of the McCracken Research Library displays a complete list of the Library’s manuscript collections. 

WyoHistory.org (Wyoming's Online Encyclopedia)

• Mission: The mission of WyoHistory.org is to encourage exploration of Wyoming and its past by building and maintaining a permanent, interactive encyclopedia of Wyoming history as an ongoing project of the Wyoming State Historical Society. It went live in May 2011.
• Collection of Oral Histories

Wyoming Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources

• Online Digital Collection

Wyoming Newspapers

• Making Wyoming’s historic newspapers available to the world for education and historical research, including genealogy, is the cornerstone of Wyoming Newspapers. Wyoming Newspapers currently includes over 340 historic Wyoming newspapers and more than 800,000 pages, the earliest is the Chugg Water Journal from 1849.

Wyoming Places

• Wyoming Places provides information about locations, histories, and name origins of places in the great state of Wyoming. When possible, we share stories about these places.

Wyoming Public Media

• WPM Mission Statement: Wyoming Public Media connects Wyoming through news and cultural programming that informs, inspires, and educates.
• Archives on the Air: Archives on the Air is a partnership the AHC holds with Wyoming Public Radio. Archives on the Air takes listeners deep into our archives. Archives on the Air can be heard on Wyoming Public Radio Monday through Friday at 11:50 am, and 6:50 pm or online on Wyoming Public Media’s website.
• Tribal News from Wind River Indian Reservation 
• One Minute Audio Snapshots of Wyoming
• Wyoming Stories. Captures history through the memories of those who live here.

Wyoming State Archives

• The Archives’ Historical Photograph Collection includes more than 500,000 images of Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain region. Topics include cowboys, ranches, buildings, scenic views, studio portraits, local communities, historic events, aerial photographs, and much more.  

Wyoming State Library

Further resources outside of Wyoming can be found at the links below. 

Adam Matthew

• Primary Source documents
• Requires access through UW

Digital Public Library of America

DocsTeach

Library of Congress

• The Library of Congress provides citizens, teachers and students with over 34 million digitized and free primary source documents and tools to enhance teaching, learning and research.
• World Digital Library, over 15,000 items 
• StoryCorps 
• Veteran's History Project 
• Watch the U.S. Congress in action. Read legislation. Write your representatives. 

Montana History Compass

Mountain West Digital Library

National Archives

State Digital Resources 

Union Pacific History and Photos

US Army Center for Military History