Military History at UW Quick Facts
1862: Morrill Act (Land Grant College Act) passed
1886: University of Wyoming established
1891: Military training begins at UW
1902: First all-girl drill companies established
1916: Reserve Officers Training Corps established
October 31, 1916: ROTC unit established at UW
August 1918: Students' Army Training Corps replaced ROTC
December 1918: ROTC resumed instruction
1941-1943: Various military training programs implemented at UW
1943: Army Specialized Training Program replaced ROTC
1946: ROTC reestablished in two parts: Army ROTC and Air Force ROTC
1965: Military training is no longer mandatory
1968: Beginning of Bronze Boot competition
1973: First female cadets in ROTC
Image: Cadet Corps drilling in front of Old Main, 1893, courtesy of B.C. Buffum collection, Acc. #400055, box 15, item 35, American Heritage Center.
Information from UW Army ROTC Cowboy Battalion.
Military History at UW Collections
Beverly C. Daly Papers, 1899-1965
Acc. #400073
Beverly C. Daly served as dean of men and a professor of military science at the University of Wyoming. Daly served in the Army from 1898 to 1910, when he retired from active service and began teaching. He retired in 1946.
The collection includes correspondence, research materials, photographs, and other materials from Daly's time in active service as well as documents from his time at UW.
University of Wyoming, Department of Military Science Records, 1892-1991
Acc. #543001
The Department of Military Science is the department under which all military training and ROTC falls under at the University of Wyoming.
The collection contains early records for the Cadet Corps and ROTC as well as other documents and materials about other military training opportunities that took place at UW.
University of Wyoming, War Activities Council Records, 1815-1946
Acc. #300002
The War Activities Council was formed in 1942 in response to World War II. The council kept records of those from Wyoming who served in the war and recognized and recorded the efforts of those that served.
The collection includes biographical files, newspaper clippings and other materials about those from Wyoming that served during the World Wars as well as information about the university's experience during the wars.