American Heritage Center, Military History Subject Guide: World War I

Time Period: 1914-1918

Allied and Associated Powers: Russia, British Empire, France, Italy, United States, Japan, Romania, Serbia, Belgium, Greece, Portugal, and Montenegro

Central Powers: Germany, Austria-Hungary, Turkey, and Bulgaria

Force Strength:

Allied and Associated Powers: 42,188,810

Central Powers: 65,038,810

Casualties:

United States: 323,018

British Empire: 3,190,235

France: 6,160,800

Russia: 9,150,000

Japan: 1,210

Italy: 2,197,000

Germany: 7,142,558

Austria-Hungary: 7,020,000

Largest Single Day Loss of Life:

Battle of the Somme: 57,470 causalities in the British Army

Image: Women Giving Water to World War I Soldiers, 1914-1918, Coll. 4212, Muriel Valentine Papers, AHC. 

Information from Encyclopedia Britannica

Allen Francis Bonnalie Papers, 1902-1974

Acc. #5859

Allen Bonnalie served as a pilot with the British Royal Air Force during World War I. In 1917, he joined the U.S. Signal Corps. After the war, he worked in various fields, often dealing with aviation and engineering.

The collection contains documents relating to Bonnalie's service during World War I as well as photographs and his research materials on aviation.

Frank T. Courtney Papers, 1916-1968

Acc. # 2779

During World War I, Frank T. Courtney served in the Royal Flying Corps (the forerunner of the Royal Air Force), reaching the rank of Captain. After the war, he continued to be an aviator, flying in various races, before coming to the U.S. in 1928, where he worked for the Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

The collection contains correspondence, articles, and diaries about Courtney's aviation career, including his time in World War I.

Gilbert Darlington Papers, 1917-1980

Acc. #7773

After being ordained as an Episcopal priest in 1916, Gilbert Darlington served as a Naval chaplain in World War I at the U.S. Naval Air Station at Killingholme, England. After the war, he remained active in various veterans organizations.

The collection contains various documents, including correspondence, photographs, and manuscripts, about Darlington's life.

Edward T. Devine Papers, 1892-1949

Acc. #3083

Edward T. Devine was a professor at Columbia University from 1905 to 1919 but was heavily involved in the American Red Cross and their relief efforts in Russia in 1916 and in France in 1917 and 1918.

The collection contains handwritten journals about relief efforts during World War I as well as other materials about the work of the Red Cross.

Guy H. Gale Papers, 1915-1974

Acc. #10878

Guy H. Gale was a pioneer in the military aviation field and a decorated officer. In 1917, he volunteered for the U.S. Army Air Service and trained as a pilot in Italy during World War I. In World War II, he also served in the U.S. Army Air Forces and took part in invasions of North Africa and Italy. Gale continued serving until 1953, when we retired from the U.S. Air Force with the rank of Colonel.

The collection contains Gale's service records, photographs, correspondence, and artifacts from Gale's time serving in the armed forces.