LibGuides: UW Casper: English

Literature References

Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by Martin Coyle (Editor); Peter Garside (Editor); Malcolm Kelsall (Editor); John Peck (Editor)
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9780203403624
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
American Authors, 1600-1900 by Howard Haycraft (Editor); Stanley Kunitz (Editor)
Call Number: PS 21.K8
ISBN: 0824200012
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Literature, 1100-1500 by Larry Scanlon (Editor)
Call Number: PR255 .C34 2009
ISBN: 9780521841672
Publication Date: 2009-06-18
The Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature, 3 Volume Set by Nicholas McDowell (Associate Editor); Jennifer Richards (Associate Editor); Garrett A. Sullivan (General Editor); Alan Stewart (General Editor); Rebecca Lemon (Associate Editor)
Call Number: PR411 .E53 2012
ISBN: 9781405194495
Publication Date: 2012-01-30

English Databases

These databases focus on research in Medieval literature, Renaissance literature, 18th century literature, 19th century literature, 20th century literature, and other literary topics.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text database that provides every book published in English between 1475 and 1700. On the ProQuest platform.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text database that provides books, pamphlets, essays and broadsides from England and English-speaking lands based on the English Short Title Catalogue. On the Gale platform.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
Online guide that presents an historical survey of literature's most important figures, schools, and movements. On the Johns Hopkins University Press platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature full-text database that combines other Gale reference series, journal articles, critical essays, plays, poems, short stories, interviews and websites. On the Gale platform.
Medieval Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Reference library of encyclopedias covering aspects of Medieval times. On the Brill platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major English and modern language indexing database that covers of journals, books and theses back to 1926.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This database includes the following collections: Europe and Africa Digital Archive, Photography Digital Archive, Science, Technology, and Medicine, Women Digital Archive, Corvey Collection of European Literature, British Theatre, Asia & West, Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature provides more than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world. This unique resource also offers secondary sources such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticisms, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.
Romanticism: Life, Literature, & Landscape This link opens in a new window
Historic full-text archive that reproduces notebooks, manuscripts, poems and correspondence of Romantic authors and artists. On the Adam Matthew platform.

UW Casper: English

Welcome

Literature References

English Databases

Academy of American Poets Twitter Feed