Skip to Main Content

American Heritage Center, University Archives and Records Management Program: Noteworthy Collections

The University Archives and Record Management Program is the official repository for permanent records of the University of Wyoming.

Noteworthy Collections

Black 14 protestorsIrene L. Kettunen Schubert Black 14 Collection

 

This collection contains materials collected by former University of Wyoming employee Irene Schubert regarding the dismissal of 14 black players from the University of Wyoming’s football team in October 1969. The players wanted to wear black armbands to protest the alleged racial policies of the Church of Latter-Day Saints, which operates Brigham Young University.

Grace Raymond Hebard Papers

 

Dr. Grace Raymond Hebard was a University of Wyoming professor, historian, and librarian. The collection contains materials relating to Grace Raymond Hebard’s career as University of Wyoming professor, librarian, and western historian with subject files containing correspondence, manuscripts, transcripts and printed materials concerning places and events Hebard researched and participated in such as the women’s suffrage movement, Wyoming history, and the University of Wyoming.

  R.E. (Ralph Edwin) McWhinnie Papers

McWhinnie was a longtime University of Wyoming official between the 1920s and 1960s. He enjoyed a long and illustrious career at the University of Wyoming, serving as Registrar and Director of Admissions (1920-1963), Administrative Consultant (1963-1965), and Archives Consultant (1965-1968). The core of this collection documents the history of the University of Wyoming. Included are subject files on people, issues, topics, departments, and colleges that McWhinnie compiled after retiring.

Samuel H. Knight Papers

 

The S.H. Knight collection documents the University of Wyoming's history and Knight's career as a geologist and University of Wyoming professor. It also documents Knight's involvement with campus organizations and activities including the athletics and geology departments, the geology museum, and UW Science Camp. Much of this material documents UW's history and shows buildings, landscapes, students, faculty, and activities.

Noteworthy Collections (cont.)

UW Intercollegiate Athletics records

 

UW Intercollegiate Athletics dates back to 1893 when the first UW football team was created. The collection is mostly comprised of films of UW football and basketball games. There is a fairly complete run of football games dating from 1936 to 1997. A fairly complete run of basketball games dates from 1971-1997, with a few films existing outside these dates. About 5 percent of the films document other UW sports from the 1980s and 1990s.

UW Office of the Vice-President for Academic Affairs Records

 

This collection contains a wealth of information on the University of Wyoming in general, not only the Office of Academic Affairs. It documents most academic and administrative units at the University of Wyoming and their relationship with Academic Affairs. Information about the University's budget, faculty and staff, administrative and academic programs, academic departments, academic planning, students and student groups, curriculum, diversity, and accreditation is present in this collection.

UW President’s Office Records

 

The collec​tion includes correspondence, reports, memos, speeches, committee minutes, surveys, photographs, Board of Trustees records, and general office files documenting the operation of the University of Wyoming. Topics include budget and finances, legislation, research projects, presidential committees, academic programs, campus buildings, events, national college and university associations, and administrative operations. Additionally, issues in the University's history known as the Textbook Controversy (1947-1948) and the Black 14 (1969) are documented.