Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

American Heritage Center, University Archives and Records Management Program: How to Donate

The University Archives and Record Management Program is the official repository for permanent records of the University of Wyoming.

How to Donate

Donating Collections

The American Heritage Center welcomes inquiries and expressions of interest from individuals, families, organizations, and businesses concerning donations of historical collections. Please contact us to learn more or to ask specific questions. We ask that you do not ship material to us without first consulting one of our archivists; we must evaluate all material offered and ask the donor to sign a gift agreement form.

Please donate to the AHC

 

How to Transfer Materials

Procedures for Preparing and Transferring Records
Please note, the University Archives does not accept even significant records that are judged to have only short-term value; that is, the archives is not a temporary records center. The University Archives only accepts material judged by the University Archivist as having long-term historical value.

Consult the University Archivist to ensure that your records are scheduled for transfer to the archives. Annual transfers of scheduled records are preferred. Please provide the following information:

  • What types of records you have for transfer (i.e. subject files, committee records, personnel files, etc.)
  • If a records schedule for your department has been completed.
  • How much you have to transfer (i.e. number of file drawers of records).

Preparing records for transfer
In the event that a large volume (50+ boxes) of records is to be transferred, it’s best to have the records examined before they are sent and archives staff may want to participate in packing them for shipment.

  • Remove material identified above as being of short-term value.
  • Remove materials from ring binders and hanging folders and place in file folders; maintain the original order of the records. Transfer information from the ring binders and hanging folders to the file folders; if more than one folder is needed label as, for example, "folder 1 of 2," "folder 2 of 2," etc.
  • Fill out an inventory form and a transfer form and send with the boxes.
  • Box the records scheduled for transfer.
  • The records will need to be boxed properly. Please use boxes measuring 10"x12"x15"
  • Maintain the filing arrangement of the records (i.e. alphabetic, numeric, chronological, subject).
  • Keep the records in their original file folders and ensure that the files are clearly labeled; include span dates. (Example: Space Planning, 1983-1990).
  • Do not over-pack or under-pack the boxes.
  • Clearly label the boxes.

PLEASE NOTE: Limited staff prevents the University Archives being able to assist with boxing and preparing inventory sheets for most records. Similarly, University Archives is not able to accept transfers of records without accompanying inventory forms and transfer forms.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon