Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

American Heritage Center, University Archives and Records Management Program: Home

The University Archives and Record Management Program is the official repository for permanent records of the University of Wyoming.

What's is the University Archives and Records Management Program?

 

As Wyoming’s only four year academic institution the University of Wyoming holds a uniquely important position in the state.  As the archive of the University, the AHC is responsible for documenting the university’s history and heritage, the contributions of its faculty and students, and preserving those permanent records which the university is legally obligated to maintain in perpetuity. Faculty papers and records of student and affiliated organizations add value and context to the official records of the University by documenting the University’s scholarship, teaching, history, and culture. The items displayed in this panel are just a few of many pieces of the University’s history preserved by the AHC.

 

The University Archives and Records Management Program is the repository for university departmental records, faculty papers, and records of student and affiliate organizations. It assists with records management and provides a secure storage location for both physical and electronic records of enduring value. The University of Wyoming and its records are governed by Wyoming Public Records Statutes and are subject to public records laws. Records retention schedules, which are approved by the State of Wyoming, guide users on the minimum length of time a type of record must be kept and indicates whether records may be of permanent historical value and should be transferred to the archives.

 

 

ImagePhotograph of Old Main and two people walking a dog, University of Wyoming, American Heritage Center, Photofile: Colleges & Universities-University of Wyoming-Buildings-Old Main, Negative Number 14979.

About the University Archives

The University Archives and Records Management Program is responsible for preserving the University of Wyoming’s (UW) history. A part of the American Heritage Center (AHC), it is the designated repository for records created by the University’s offices, departments, and colleges having long-term historical value. The university archivist is available to work with any office on all of its records management needs.

  • Collections within the University Archives document the university’s administration, history, research, teaching, culture, and community. Records date back to the university’s founding in 1886.
  •  Catalog records and other descriptions of University Archives collections can be accessed online through the UW library catalog or through Archives West (https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/)
  • The University Archives also oversees collections that are not considered university records. These include collections created by faculty, students, and recognized student organizations.
  • Records from faculty and students are donated to the AHC following our standard donation procedures.

 

Image: University of Wyoming football team, 1909. University of Wyoming, American Heritage Center, Photofile.

Contact the University Archivist

Profile Photo
American Heritage Center
Contact:
AHC Reading Room
4th Floor
Centennial Complex
UW Laramie
ahcref@uwyo.edu
307-766-3756
Website

Contact Us

Profile Photo
American Heritage Center
Contact:
AHC Reading Room
4th Floor
Centennial Complex
UW Laramie
ahcref@uwyo.edu
307-766-3756
Website

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon