Staff Guide to the Libraries: Library Collections

Home

• Welcome
• About the Libraries
• Other Library Links

Library Collections

• Overview
• Audiobooks
• Children's Books
• eBooks
• Magazines and Newspapers
• Music
• Popular Reading Collection
• Research-Oriented Collections
• Videos

Library Services

• Borrowing
• Computers
• Interlibrary Loan
  
• Prospector
  
• Request It
• Research Assistance
  
• Study Rooms

Requesting Purchases

• Collection Development Office
  
• Requesting Books, Journals, Media, etc.

Coe Library Circulation: Coe Library, Main Level room 210; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Brinkerhoff Geology Library Circulation: S.H. Knight Geology Building room 121; or georef@uwyo.edu

Emmett Chisum Special Collections: Coe Library Level 3, room 309; or chisumrr@uwyo.edu

Interlibrary Loan Office: Coe Library room 237; or elsreq@uwyo.edu

Learning Resource Center Circulation: Education Building room 222; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Library Annex Circulation: Biological Sciences Building, Basement room 41; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Coe Library Media Services: Coe Library, Level 1 (basement) room 105; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

The Libraries include continually growing print and online collections:

• over 1.5 million volumes
• 89,000+ online and print journals
• 800,000+ ebooks
• 700+ bibliographic and eContent databases
• 9,000+ DVDs, plus streaming videos
• 1,800+ CDs, plus streaming music
• over 2 million microfiche and microfilm
• over 1.4 million U.S. documents

All of these are available for use and virtually all may be checked out by university staff with their WyoOne or photo ID. 

The Media Collection contains educational videos as well as award-winning films and television shows arranged by call number on Coe Level 1 (basement).  Virtually all of the collection is provided in DVD or Blu-Ray format.

Our media guide includes canned searches for award winning films, films by language, and films by genre. See a list of recently-added DVDs.

Videos may be checked out for seven days with no renewals. Contact the Coe Help Desk with questions about borrowing videos. Additional DVDs are available through Prospector.

The Libraries also purchase or lease streaming audio and video. Most titles are listed in our catalog, or search and access them through media databases.

To request a video purchase for your classroom, please complete a purchase request form. Contact the Collection Development Office with questions.

Coe Library has a media screening room to show DVDs or streaming video to campus groups, with priority given to faculty screening for credit courses. Please see room policies and reservation information. Some private study rooms are equipped with DVD players; equipment details are available when reserving study rooms.

The Libraries lease a collection of popular fiction, non-fiction, and audiobooks on CD that are located in Coe Library on Level 2.   Titles in the Popular Reading Collection are listed in the Library Catalog.  A Cover Browse feature shows recent additions to the Popular Reading Collection.

Popular Reading books and CDs are available for 21 day loans with one renewal.

Additional leisure reading materials are available from public libraries as part of Prospector, or visit Albany County Public Library.

A small selection of popular titles are provided in one of two audiobook formats. 

• Audio CDs:  We lease a small collection of titles on CD available to check out that may be found in the Popular Reading Collection on the main level of Coe Library.
   
• Downloadable Books:  In partnership with the Wyoming State Library, we offer downloadable audiobooks from RBdigital and Bibliotheca Cloud Library.  See our guide for using eAudiobooks.

Introduction to OverDrive:

The OverDrive Virtual Library replaced the Cloud Library service to provide even more digital content to UW faculty, staff, and students. Community borrowers and Wyoming state residents may access OverDrive through their local public library. OverDrive, and it's mobile app counterpart, Libby is the easiest way to get started with popular e-books, e-audiobooks, magazines, and more from UW Libraries and all Wyoming state libraries.

Borrowers can access a world of downloadable reading and listening using OverDrive.

How to Access:

1. Visit the Wyoming Virtual Library at: https://virtuallibrary.overdrive.com/ 
2. Click Sign-In 
3. Select "University of Wyoming" as your library
4. Sign in using your UWYO username and password

Introduction to Libby:
The free Libby app is the easiest way to get started with e-books, e-audiobooks, magazines, and more from UW Libraries and all Wyoming state libraries from your mobile device or tablet. All you need to do is download the app and sign in to our library using your UWYO username and password to begin browsing the digital collection.

Intro to Libby video:

The Libraries music collection comes in two formats: audio CDs that may be checked out and streaming music that can be played on a computer or mobile device.  The Libraries collect music primarily in support of the University's music program, but it is available for any user.  The primary genres collected include classical, jazz, and musical theatre.  The audio CD collection is arranged by call number in the Media Collection, Coe Level 1.  CDs may be borrowed for 21 days with one renewal.

The Libraries also have music scores that can be checked out or accessed online.

The Libraries have print and electronic subscriptions to a number of popular magazines as well as state, regional, national, and international newspapers.

Search the Library Catalog to see what titles are available.  If you want to browse the Libraries' print magazine or newspaper holdings the main collection is found in Coe Library on level 1 (basement) central, opposite the double elevators. Current print magazines and newspapers are not available for checkout and must be used in the library.  A KIC scanner is available near the Help Desk in Coe Library for making and emailing quick scans of articles.

MasterFile Premier indexes and provides access to articles from popular magazines. The Gale Popular Magazines database is another source for magazines of interest to the general public.

RBDigital Magazines allows for checking out digital issues of popular and special interest magazines. RBdigital is jointly supported by UW Libraries, the Wyoming State Library, public libraries and community college libraries around the state.

Alternatively, the  eJournals page allows you to browse or search journals and magazines by title. Titles are available in various databases, publisher websites, or located in print at the Libraries.

The Learning Resource Center (LRC), in the College of Education., houses children's literature and curriculum materials for elementary and secondary education primarily to support pre-service teachers and the UW Lab School. These materials are also available for check-out by employees or their children (requires parental permission form on file).

For More Information: The Learning Resource Center, Education Bldg., Room 222, or 307-766-2527.

The Libraries collections are primarily built to support research interests.  Virtually all library collections, including those listed below, are searchable by Super Search, which allows you to refine your search to those library locations.

Super Search Catalog

Digitized Collections: This department scans and catalogs local or rare materials from library or campus agencies as well as collects and preserves born-digital locally-produced articles and publications in several institutional repositories (each with their own search engine):  Digital UW and Wyoming Scholarly Repository (WySR). There is no physical collection; all materials are found online.

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections (Coe Library level 3 east): This is a collection of collections, most of which need protection and must be used in the Chisum Reading Room.  Some of the collections include published materials about the University of Wyoming; published books and maps on the history and culture in the State of Wyoming; Plains Indians history; historic clothing; the Wool Lab, and the unique Michael Canoso Miniature Book Collection.

 U.S. Government Documents: The Libraries serve as a selective Federal Depository; the materials received this way are located largely in the Library Annex. In recent years much of the federal government's publishing has shifted from print to online, so most current items are located through the Libraries' Super Search Catalog

Contact information is provided at each of the links above.