Staff Guide to the Libraries: Home

Home

• Welcome
• About the Libraries
• Other Library Links

Library Collections

• Overview
• Audiobooks
• Children's Books
• eBooks
• Magazines and Newspapers
• Music
• Popular Reading Collection
• Research-Oriented Collections
• Videos

Library Services

• Borrowing
• Computers
• Interlibrary Loan
  
• Prospector
  
• Request It
• Research Assistance
  
• Study Rooms

Requesting Purchases

• Collection Development Office
  
• Requesting Books, Journals, Media, etc.

Welcome to the University of Wyoming Libraries! This guide provides information on library resources and services available to support your research, teaching, and recreational interests. If we do not have what you need in our collection, we can probably borrow it or purchase it for you.

Units of the UW Libraries are:

University Libraries mission is to provide information resources and services to meet the instructional, research, and outreach needs of UW students, faculty and staff regardless of location. UW Libraries is also open and available within the constraints of available resources to the citizen of Wyoming. The Dean of Libraries is Dr. Ivan Gaetz. See our full mission statement, strategic plan, collection policies and budget, and organizational chart. We are supported in our work by the Library Council, a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, and the University Libraries Development Board. Our libraries include:

William Robertson Coe Library is the main library on campus. A renovation and expansion of Coe Library was completed in 2009. In addition to regular book and journal collections, Coe Library houses the Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections. Learn more about the history of Coe Library.

Brinkerhoff Geology Library is home to maps, books, journals, and other publications related to geology, physical geography, mining, and related subjects.

Learning Resource Center contains children's books and curriculum materials to support the Lab School and faculty and students in the College of Education and beyond.

Library Annex is an open storage facility for older journals (pre-2006) and UW's Federal Depository of government documents. The Annex also offers quiet study space and journal retrieval services.

Rocky Mountain Herbarium Library is a non-circulating research collection of taxonomic literature focusing on vascular plants in western North America and operated by the UW Botany Department.

UW-National Park Service Center Library provides a small collection and services to researchers working at the university's AMK Ranch in Grand Teton National Park.

The UW Libraries are members of consortia in order to enhance library collections and services:

• Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries, host to the unified Prospector catalog for borrowing and lending from over 40 Colorado and Wyoming libraries.

• Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), which partners on subscriptions and interlibrary loan services.

Campus partners that are administratively separate but offer research, teaching, and academic support services are:

• the American Heritage Center, archives and rare books

• the George W. Hopper Law Library

• the Water Resources Data System Library

• the Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center (WyGISC)

• Coe Student Innovation Center (CSIC) maker space in Coe Library

• Learning Resource Networks (LeaRN) located in Coe Library

• STEP Tutoring offering services in Coe Library

• Writing Center located in Coe Library

• Ellbogen Center for Teaching & Learning (ECTL) located in Coe Library

This is a list of potentially useful library collections and services that are not mentioned elsewhere in this guide.

• A to Z List is an alphabetical index to the Libraries' website.
• Citation Finder is a tool to see if the Libraries have electronic access to specific journal articles, books, etc.
• Contacts Directory lists library staff responsibilities and contact information.
• Digital Collections produced by the Libraries and the American Heritage Center.
• Disability Services describes library facilities and services.  Campus services are provided by University Disability Support Services (UDSS). 
• Dusty Shelves Blog provides news from the Libraries and the world of books.
• Emmet D. Chissum Special Collections (Coe Library Room 309), home of Grace Raymond Hebard, Wool Lab, and Canoso Miniature Book collections.
• Library Forms links to permission slips, purchase requests, requests for instruction or research assistance, and other forms.
• Library Hours provides open hours for campus libraries.
• Maps and Directions provide library locations on campus with floor plans with information of call number locations.
• New Books and New DVDs list recent book purchases and gifts.
• Off-Campus Access: log in with UW credentials to access library subscribed services from off campus. 
• WorldCat shows holdings from libraries around the world and is useful for verifying book citations and identifying materials beyond UW. A free version is also available.