Staff Guide to the Libraries: Library Services

Home

• Welcome
• About the Libraries
• Other Library Links

Library Collections

• Overview
• Audiobooks
• Children's Books
• eBooks
• Magazines and Newspapers
• Music
• Popular Reading Collection
• Research-Oriented Collections
• Videos

Library Services

• Borrowing
• Computers
• Interlibrary Loan
  
• Prospector
  
• Request It
• Research Assistance
  
• Study Rooms

Requesting Purchases

• Collection Development Office
  
• Requesting Books, Journals, Media, etc.

Coe Library Circulation: Coe Library, Main Level room 210; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Brinkerhoff Geology Library Circulation: S.H. Knight Geology Building room 121; or georef@uwyo.edu

Emmett Chisum Special Collections: Coe Library Level 3, room 309; or chisumrr@uwyo.edu

Interlibrary Loan Office: Coe Library room 237; or elsreq@uwyo.edu

Learning Resource Center Circulation: Education Building room 222; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Library Annex Circulation: Biological Sciences Building, Basement room 41; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

Coe Library Media Services: Coe Library, Level 1 (basement) room 105; or libcirc@uwyo.edu

UW employees can check out materials at circulation desks in the Brinkerhoff Geology Library, Coe Library, Learning Resource Center (LRC), and Library Annex. Non-circulating collections at the Rocky Mountain Herbarium (Aven Nelson Bldg, Room 311), Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections (Coe Library, Room 309), or the UW-National Park Service Research Center (Grand Teton National Park) must be used in those facilities.

• Your WyoOne card is your library card and is required for checking out materials.
• You may check out a maximum of 250 items.
• Loan period for books from main collections is a semester with two renewals; other materials vary such as videos, Prospector materials, Request It materials, bound journal volumes, etc.
• You may renew items online, by email, by phone or in-person; use renewals to avoid overdues and replacement bills.
• Library notices are sent as courtesy.  For items that check out for 28 days or longer you are sent a courtesy due date reminder notice and two overdue notices prior to being billed.
• You may authorize another patron to borrow materials for you using Linked Patrons.
• You can borrow books and media from other libraries through Prospector and Request It. 
• Use Request It to get journal articles electronically or to have us retrieve library materials and hold them at your preferred library location.
• You are responsible for all materials checked out to your account and any fees or damages incurred (See Damaged Materials).

Links for more borrowing information are provided below.

UW staff may use computers with Internet access in computer labs provided by UW Information Technology and the Libraries. Log on with your WyoWeb username and password. 

• Coe Library has 138 computers in labs spread across levels 1-3. Additionally there are 15 Windows and 10 MacBook laptops available for in-library check-out at the Help Desk (main floor).
• Geology has 6 computers on the first floor. 
• The Annex has no computers in the facility but a lab with 51 computers is just across the hallway.

Printing accounts are available when you are enrolled in a UW class or you can add funds for printing on your WyoOne card.

 Prospector  lists holdings of 42 Colorado and Wyoming libraries and allows UW faculty, staff, and students to borrow book and media materials. To borrow through Prospector: search its catalog; select items that are not available at UW; indicate you are affiliated with UW; provide your WyoOne username and password; and select which library you want to pickup your item(s).

Prospector Borrowing Conditions

• Books may be borrowed for three weeks, with one renewal.
• Videos may be borrowed for one week with no renewals.
• Audio CDs use either the book or video loan pattern depending upon the lending library.
• If an item is listed as available, it typically can get to Laramie in 2-3 business days.
• You will be notified by email when materials are ready for pick-up.
• You can track Prospector requests through your Library Account.
• Standard library practices are followed for long overdue or damaged materials.

Unfortunately, if you are located off-campus the Prospector service is not available to you; instead use Request It.

SEE ALSO What is the difference between Prospector and Request It?

Request It is a combined on-campus document delivery and interlibrary loan service offered to UW faculty, students, and staff.  Through it you can access UW's print and eResources as well as the materials at over 4,000 libraries world-wide.

To use Request It:

1. Establish a Request It Account using your WyoOne username and password.
2. Request items in one of two ways:

• Fill out online book and article forms available on the left-hand column of your Request It home page.
• Click buttons found throughout the Library Catalog and most of our online bibliographic databases to automatically fill out the request form.

Request It Borrowing Conditions

• There is no charge for Request It.
• You can select whichever campus library you want to pick-up materials in your Request It account.
• You can track, cancel, and renew requests from your Request It account.
• Loan periods for other libraries' materials is determined by them.
• Articles and book chapters are typically supplied as digital files.
• Standard library practices are followed for long overdue or damaged materials.

SEE ALSO What is the difference between Prospector and Request It?

 UW employees may contact the Libraries for assistance with research, quick facts, or locating library resources.

Contact us:

• In person: drop by the help desk at one of our campus branch libraries during business hours
• Email
• Chat--click Chat icon on research launchpad page
• Text: 307-460-4336
• Phone: Coe Library, 766-3190 or 1-800-442-6757; Geology Library, 766-3374; Special Collections, 766-2027; LRC (lab school library), 766-2527; American Heritage Center, 766-3756; Law Library, 766-5737
• FAQ - find answers to common questions in our knowledgebase
• Book a librarian (in-depth assistance)

Reserve a Room is an online system to reserve a study room in Coe Library, the Media viewing rooms (also in Coe) or the Library Annex.

Study rooms include a table, chairs, and whiteboard. 14 rooms at Coe Library have computers and most of these have a large wall-mounted monitors. Viewing rooms include chairs, a wall-mounted monitor, and a DVD/VCR player.

In addition to Reserve a Room, you can contact Coe Library Help Desk at or libcirc@uwyo.edu; the Library Annex at or libcirc@uwyo.edu; the Coe Media Help Desk at or libcirc@uwyo.edu; or visit any of the libraries' circulation desks in person.

Because of the heavy demand for these rooms, they should not be scheduled repeatedly for meetings or seminars.  Other study room policies.