LibGuides: Religious Studies : Other Religions

Secondary Sources and Books

Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism
The Encyclopedia of Confucianism is a comprehensive resource for information on the Confucian philosophy and religion. Entries are provided on important figures, doctrines, schools, rituals, and sacred places with bibliographies for further studies. A great resource for beginning research into Confucianism.
Historical Dictionary of Shinto
This reference work relates the history of Shinto through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 800 cross-referenced dictionary entries on Shinto concepts, significant figures, places, activities, and periods. Scholars and students will find the overviews and sources for further research provided by this book to be enormously helpful.
Sikhism: A Very Short Introduction
Part of the Oxford Very Short Introductions series. It reviews the history and cultural impact of Sikhism.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Contains journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.
Encyclopedia of African Religion
This two volume encyclopedia covers the diverse religious traditions of Africa, from ancient Egypt to modern day. It is the first comprehensive reference work for African religions. An excellent introduction provides background on religion in Africa, and suggestions for further reading are provided for each article to aid in continuing research.
Revisionism and Diversification in New Religious Movements
This scholarly book informs on the topics of cults, minority religions, and spiritual movements.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A resource for searching for journal articles and books published worldwide pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences).

Outside Resources

Early Tibet
This scholarly website houses notes, thoughts, and research on the History of Tibet.
The Journal of the International Association of Tibetan Studies
This digital OER houses articles on Tibetan Studies, as well as digital content such as maps, audio recordings, images, and video.
Oxford Bibliographies -- Satan
This resource points to scholarship around the topic of Satan and Satanism.

American Heritage Center

Emily Hill's and Dorothy Tappay's Shoshoni Ghost Dance Songs Audio Cassettes, Collection 10497

Sisters Emily Hill (born 1911) and Dorothy Tappay shared 130 Ghost Dance songs with ethnomusicologist Judith Vander. These songs had been sung on the Wind River Reservation by the Shoshoni people in the 1930s. The songs were used in Vander's book, "Shoshone Ghost Dance Religion: Poetry Songs and Great Basin Context", which was published by the University of Illinois Press in 1997. The collection consists of 5 audio-cassette tapes which are copies of originals collected by Judith Vander. The tapes contain the Shoshoni Ghost Dance songs of Emily Hill and Dorothy Tappay.

Thomas C. Kennedy Papers, Collection 400003

Thomas C. Kennedy was a professor at the University of Wyoming. His collection includes course materials that range in subject- with many of them touching on various religions of the world.