LibGuides: Religious Studies : General Resources

Religious Studies Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (American Theological Library Association) This link opens in a new window
Major religion indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles and essays back to 1908 and includes the Association's eJournal titles. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Group of digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. On a Gale platform.
Association of Religion Data Archives This link opens in a new window
Free database by the Association of Religion Data Archives at Penn State University. On its own platform.
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century.
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Consists of titles published from 1894 through 1922. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions
Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of works and archival materials related to twentieth century religious thinkers. On the Alexander Street Press platform.
Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Religious Magazine Archive offers digital access to the archival runs of 18 major consumer periodicals in the field of religion, spanning the 19th-21st centuries.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities indexing database covering journal articles and citation information back to 1975. Part of Web of Science on the Web of Knowledge platform.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, covering art, design, crafts, and photography; archaeology, anthropology, and classical studies; architecture, interior design, and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography, and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, film, and cultural studies.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.