LibGuides: Religious Studies : Buddhism

Primary Sources

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume IV, Eastern Religions
Collection of works and archival materials related to twentieth century religious thinkers, focused on Eastern religions.
Buddhist Mahayana Texts
Translation of key texts of the Mahayana tradition of Buddhism.

Outside Resources

H-Buddhism
An academic online forum for specialists in Buddhist studies.
Borobudur Temple Compounds (UNESCO/NHK)
A video walkthrough of the temple structure.

Secondary Sources and Books

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Contains journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This two-volume encyclopedia is a great resource for learning more about major Buddhist figures, beliefs, or even Buddhist perspectives on contemporary issues such as gender. The encyclopedia gathers articles from a number of authors for a variety of diverse perspectives, and entries include suggestions for further reading.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A resource for searching for journal articles and books published worldwide pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences).
A Historical Atlas of South Asia
A definitive historical chronology of the region of South Asia from prehistoric times through the present.

American Heritage Center

Thomas C. Kennedy Papers, Collection 400003

Thomas C. Kennedy was a professor at the University of Wyoming. His collection includes course materials that range in subject- with some of them touching on the subject of religion and Buddhism specifically.

Bertha Klausner Papers, Collection 09562

Bertha Klausner represented writers and founded the Bertha Klausner International Literary Agency, Inc. This collection contains multiple manuscripts relating to Buddhism.