Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Newspapers: Searching Newspapers

Newspapers currently subscribed to, that are retained in microform, and in digital formats.

Searching Strategies

Successfully location information in newspapers can be difficult. The easiest way to search for information is to use an indexed database such as ProQuest U.S. Newsstream. Bibliographers categorize the articles by keywords, subject, title, and so forth in a digital format. This digital information can then be searched easily using search engines. The limitations to this method is that not every newspaper is digitized. For Wyoming newspapers, only the Wyoming Tribune Eagle is indexed and digitized. This fact limits the amount of information that can be located by digital searches. Many other states have limited digitization. Still, ProQuest U.S. Newsstream is a fantastic source to locate recent and past articles. Other searchable databases of newspapers are available.

Most newspaper publishers limit the number of articles that can be accessed for "free" on their websites. However, one trick is to use the publisher's website to search for articles by keyword, title, or subject, and then go to a database like ProQuest U.S. Newsstream to see if that article is available. If it is, then the article may be downloaded or printed. If the article is not, there are other options such as searching retained copies of print newspapers, searching microforms, or submitting an interlibrary loan request.

As a general policy, UW Libraries keep paper copies of newspapers for six-months. After six months, issues are sent to be scanned into microform (i.e., microfilm or microfiche). Ask at the Coe Help Desk to have past issues brought out for browsing.

Microform newspapers are located on Level 1 of Coe Library. There is a microform reader located near the microform cabinets. Inquire at the Help Desk for assistance.

A final option is to use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request copies of newspaper articles. Request It is the ILL service for UW students, faculty, and staff. Submit one request per article title. Provide as much information as possible with the request. Unfortunately, Request It is not available for patrons of the UW Library who are not current students, faculty, or staff. Requests need to be submitted through a local public or academic library. Fees for the request are assessed by that library.

Finding Newspapers

Finding Newspapers

There are seven places where newspapers can be found.  Those marked below with @ require the assistance of Help Desk staff.

  1. Current newspaper issues on Coe level 1 central; arranged alphabetically within Wyoming, national, and International categories.
  2. Storage (Room 270) on Coe level 2 @.
  3. Laramie Daily Boomerang or Branding Iron: paper copies in Chisum Special Collections @.
  4. Microform holdings (Coe level 1 east) (NOTE: These items will be moving to a new location summer 2021).
  5. At vendor being microfilmed--these are unavailable until returned.
  6. Wyoming Newspaper Project: historical digitized newspapers.

Given the number of possible newspaper locations, we recommend that if you can't quickly find the issue you are looking for, ask at the Help Desk located on Coe Level 2 near the entrance.

Wyoming Newspapers

Recent Articles:

The only currently-published Wyoming newspaper that is searchable through a library database is the Wyoming Tribune Eagle (Cheyenne). This paper is indexed in the ProQuest U.S. Newsstream database. Select "Publications" from the menu at the top of that page, then type "Wyoming" in the search box.

No other Wyoming newspapers are indexed within the ProQuest U.S. Newsstream database, which makes locating information difficult. Some Wyoming newspapers have a website that has a search engine. Most of these newspapers also limit the number of articles that may be viewed per month. However, the results of these website searches can be used to request articles through interlibrary loan (ILL), locating the article on microform, or print copies of the newspapers available in the library.

Historical Articles:

The Wyoming Newspaper Project is a digitization project of the Wyoming State Library.  Newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th century in Wyoming communities are being scanned and converted to a searchable format. The WSL is working from the earliest issues forward. Most scanned newspapers are from the 1800s and early 1900s. These documents are very useful for historical and genealogical research.

International Newspapers

Recent Articles:

ProQuest Newstand is the best database to use to locate articles from newspapers published in other countries. Use the filters on the left-hand side of the webpage to select specific countries or languages. Another option is to locate specific newspapers, select "Publications" from the topmost menu in the database. Search and/or browse to the desired title or location of publication.

Not every newspaper published in the world is indexed in this database. If the newspaper is not listed, other options to locate information include:

  • Locate the newspaper website and use the website search engine to locate articles.
  • Use the information from a search of the newspaper website to request the article using Request It (the library's interlibrary loan office). This service can also be used to request rolls of microfilm from other libraries.

Historical Articles:

Many of the databases listed on the "News & Newspapers" are digitized images of historical newspapers from the international locations during the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. These databases are searchable by keyword and subject.

Not all newspapers have been digitized. Some are available on microfilm or microfiche, and must be searched manually. Some newspapers are unavailable for loan, but specific articles may be requested using Request It. If a specific newspaper is not listed in the database listing, or is not listed in a database, the next step is to determine where microforms or bound copies may be held by a library. Use the WorldCat FirstSearch database to search.

United States Newspapers

Recent Articles:

ProQuest Newstand is the best database to use to locate articles from major United States newspapers. The database indexes over 600 papers of "General Interest Publications." There are also specific political and science publications available that are published within the United States.

To locate specific newspapers, select "Publications" from the topmost menu in the database. Search and/or browse to the desired title or location of publication.

Not every newspaper published in the United States is indexed in this database. If the newspaper is not listed, other options to locate information include:

Locate the newspaper website and use the website search engine to locate articles.

Use the information from a search of the newspaper website to request the article using Request It (the library's interlibrary loan office). This service can also be used to request rolls of microfilm from other libraries.

Historical Articles:

Many of the databases listed on the "News & Newspapers" are digitized images of historical newspapers from the United States during the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. These databases are searchable by keyword and subject.

Not all newspapers have been digitized. Some are available on microfilm or microfiche, and must be searched manually. Some newspapers are unavailable for loan, but specific articles may be requested using Request It. If a specific newspaper is not listed in the database listing, or is not listed in a database, the next step is to determine where microforms or bound copies may be held by a library. Use the WorldCat FirstSearch database to search.

Special Interest Newspapers

Recent Articles:

ProQuest Newstand is the best database to use to locate recent articles from special interest newspapers. The database indexes many special interest newspapers based on language and theme.

To locate special interest newspapers, select from the filters on the left-hand menu (e.g., select a specific language or publication subject). The publications that are displayed will be filtered and resorted. Search and/or browse to the desired title.

If a special interest newspaper is not listed in ProQuest Newsstand, determine if the publication has a website. Articles may be available from the website, or the information about specific articles may be obtained. Use the information from a search of the newspaper website to request the article using Request It (the library's interlibrary loan office). This service can also be used to request rolls of microfilm from other libraries.

Historical Articles:

Many of the databases listed on the "News & Newspapers" are digitized images of historical newspapers published at worldwide locations during the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. Almost every database is searchable by keyword and subject.

Not all newspapers have been digitized. Some are available on microfilm or microfiche, and must be searched manually. Some newspapers are unavailable for loan, but specific articles may be requested using Request It. If a specific newspaper is not listed in the database listing, or is not listed in a database, the next step is to determine where microforms or bound copies may be held by a library. Use the WorldCat FirstSearch database to search.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon