Skip to Main Content

Newspapers: Getting Started

Newspapers currently subscribed to, that are retained in microform, and in digital formats.

Overview

The UW Libraries subscribe to a number of print editions of state, national, and international newspapers in order to provide information on current news events, as well as a resource for investigating on the reporting of historical events at the time the events occurred.

This guide provides information on accessing current digital and print newspapers. If you want information on accessing historical newspapers, this guide titled Historical Newspapers provides all the necessary information about physical and digital collections at UW.

The best starting point for finding any newspaper are the ProQuest databases. These databases are organized geographically, such as U.S. Newsstream, Asia Newstream, European Newstream, and all other major geographical regions. See the complete listing of all newspaper databases at this link.

Access The New York Times

New York Times logo

University of Wyoming Libraries have arranged with the publisher of The New York Times to provide access to its online newspaper.

Only UW students, faculty, and staff have access to this digital version of the newspaper. Public patrons cannot set up accounts, but may be able to access some content by using a public computer in the library.

To set up a NEW account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to accessnyt.com 
  2. Look up the "University of Wyoming"
  3. Create an account.

Here is a tutorial video to set up a new account for additional support, or the NYT access FAQ. 

Existing REGISTERED NYT SUBSCRIBERS should see our FAQ to set up their account with the UW affiliation.

Subscribers encountering an error message can email edu@nytimes.com.

The New York Times in Education

The Academic Site License also includes access to the NYU education resource website, nytimes.com/edu, which provides the following features:

  • Discipline-specific areas of study
  • Classroom discussion prompts
  • Suggested learning outcomes
  • General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement
  • Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests
  • See the NYT Learning Tools (PDF) linked below for more information

The link to The New York Times may also be accessed through the ProQuest U.S. Newsstand database. Click on the  "Databases A - Z"  link on of the tabs on the top of the UW Libraries' "QuickSearch" box located on the main webpage. Access through the A - Z list or browse under "Databases by Subject" in the "News and Newspapers" listing.  Please be aware that there are other databases listed that provide access to older issues of that newspaper.

This is the direct link to the newspaper through the U.S. Newsstream database through the library website. Sign on when prompted with your WyoWeb username and password, as well as any two-factor authentication if required.

The daily print issue is available at Coe Library on Level 1 in the newspapers section across from the DVDs. The paper cannot be checked out and must remain in the immediate area by the other newspapers.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

 

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

 


Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

 

 

yellow arrow on a sky blue boxInterlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

 

Access The Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal newspaper header

University of Wyoming Libraries have arranged with the publisher of The Wall Street Journal to provide access to its online newspaper.

Only UW students, faculty, and staff have access to this digital version of the newspaper. Public patrons cannot set up accounts, but may be able to access some content by using a public computer in the library.

The link to The Wall Street Journal may be accessed through the "Databases A - Z" page. The link to this page is one of the tabs on the top of the UW Libraries' "QuickSearch" box on the main webpage. Access through the A - Z list or browse under "Databases by Subject" in the "News and Newspapers" listing.  Please be aware that there are other databases listed that provide access to older issues of that newspaper.

This is the direct link to the newspaper through the library website.

A PDF of the instructions for setting up your WSJ account is located directly below.

This link is to an FAQ that contains this information.

The Wall Street Journal also offers a comprehensive suite that assists with classroom instruction. It provides multiple ways to demonstrate real-world applications of academic theories. WSJ for Professors includes:

  • WSJ Context
  • Critical Thinking Resource
  • Weekly Review
  • The Assessment Tool
  • Seminar Series

Learn more at WSJ.com/Professor

New York Times Databases

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Access The Washington Post

The Washington Post newspaper banner

University of Wyoming Libraries have arranged with the publisher of The Washington Post to provide access to its online newspaper.

Only UW students, faculty, and staff have access to this digital version of the newspaper. Public patrons cannot set up accounts, but may be able to access some content by using a public computer in the library.

The link to The Washington Post may be accessed through the "Databases A - Z" page. The link to this page is one of the tabs on the top of the UW Libraries' "QuickSearch" box on the main webpage. Access through the A - Z list or browse under "Databases by Subject" in the "News and Newspapers" listing.  Please be aware that there are other databases listed that provide access to older issues of that newspaper.

Off-campus users can also register for subscription access by creating a Washington Post account with their @uwyo.edu domain at no additional cost. See the FAQ link below for more information. 

This is the direct link to the newspaper through the library website.

This link is to an FAQ that contains this information.