Skip to Main Content

Graduate Students' Guide to the Library: Books, Monographs & Media

Graduate students have specialized research needs. This guide provides tips and tricks for getting started, but we also recommend that you get to know your subject librarian for in-depth questions and support.

Images

The below databases and webpages are places to find searchable, high quality, cited images.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

 

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

 


Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

 

 

yellow arrow on a sky blue boxInterlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

 

Check Out Items

Getting items and checking them out: The description in the library catalog includes which level the item is on, the call number, and whether the item is available. Once you have books or other items in hand, take them to the Help Desk or a nearby Self-Checkout Station. Items can be checked out with a WyoOne ID card (or library card).  Loan periods vary by your status and the type of material being checked out.

Find Electronic Books

Search for Open Access (Free) Books

Related Research Guides