LibGuides: Browsing the Libraries by Call Number: A to C

Introduction

The majority of library materials at the University of Wyoming Libraries are shelved according to the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. This call number schema uses a mix of letters and numbers to identify an item's unique location in the stacks (the portion of the library where books and media are shelved).

Please refer to the detailed list of subjects presented in this guide to identify the most likely corresponding call number(s) for a particular topic. Subjects in blue provide links to the classification breakdowns.

To learn how to find the call number for a specific item, how to read a call number, or how to find an item in the stacks, click here.

A

Academies & Learned Societies > AS

Accounting > HF 5601-5689

Acting > PN 2061-2080

Aeronautics > TL 500-777

Aesthetics > BH

Afghan History > DS 350-375

African History > DT

African Languages & Literature > PL 8000-8844

Afro-Americans > E 184.5-185.98

Agricultural Economics > HD 1401-2210; S 560-571.5; SF 111-113

Agriculture > Class S

Agriculture (General) > S

Air Forces > UG 622-1525

Almanacs (General) > AY 30-1730

Alternative Medicine > RZ

American Drama (General) > PS 330-353

American History > Class E

American History (General) > E 1-143

American Indian Languages > PM 101-2711

American Literature (General) > PS 1-285

American Literature by Era and Author > PS 700-3626

American Literature Collections > PS 501-689

American Poetry (General) > PS 301-326

American Prose (General) > PS 360-478

American State & Regional History > F 1-975

Anarchism > HX 821-971

Ancient History (Greece & Rome) > DE

Animal Culture > SD 1-561

Anthropology > GN

Aquaculture > SH 1-199

Archeology > CC

Architecture > NA

Archives > CD 921-4280; Z 105-115.5

Art > Class N

Art (General) > N

Art History > N 5300-7415

Arts in General > NX

Asian History > DS

Asian Languages & Literature (General) > PL 1-4890

Astronautics > TL 780-4050

Astronomy > QB

Atlases > G 1000-3122

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

B

The Bible > BS

Bibliography > Z 1001-8999

Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources > Class Z

Biochemistry > QD 415-436

Biography (General) > CT

Biology (General) > QH 301-705.5

Book Production and Trade > Z116-659

Books (General) > Z 1-8

Botanic Medicine > RV

Botany > QK

Bridges > TG

British History > DA

Broadcasting > PN 1990-1992.95; HE 8689-8700.95

Buddhism > BQ

Building Construction > TH

Business > HF

C

Canadian History > F 1001-1145.2

Canadian Literature > PS 8001-8599

Canon Law SEE Religious Law

Cartography > GA

Central American History > F 1421-3799

Chemical Engineering > TP

Chemistry > QD

Chicano-Americans > E 184 .M5; E 184 .S75

Children’s Literature > Dewey Decimal call numbers (Learning Resource Center)

Chinese History > DS 701-799.5

Chinese Languages & Literature > PL 1001-3301

Christian Denominations > BX

Christianity > BR; BS; BX

Chronology & Calendars > CE

Cities > HT 51-395

Civil Engineering > TA 501-2040; TC-TH

Civil War History (U.S.), 1861-1865 > E 456-655

Class SEE Social Classes

Coins (Numismatics) > CJ

Collected Works & Series > AC

College & School Magazines & Papers > LH

College Fraternities and Societies (U.S.) > LJ

Colonial History (U.S.) 1607-1775 > E 185-199

Colonies and Colonization > JV 1-5397

Commerce SEE Business

Commercial Art > NC 997-1003; NC 1280-1896

Communication & Mass Media > P 87-99.6

Communism > HX 519-696

Communities SEE Cities

Computers > QA 76; TK 7885-7895

Cookbooks > TX 643-840

Costume > GT 500-2370

Crafts SEE Handicrafts

Criminal Justice > HV 7231-9960

Criminology > HV 6001-7220.5

Customs > GT

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.