LibGuides: EndNote Desktop: Build a Reference Library

Adding References

EndNote

There are several methods for adding reference information (e.g., authors, title, publisher) to your reference library in EndNote Desktop:

Start your search in a library article database (e.g., Web of Science, Academic Search Premier, ProQuest Central) and export selected citations to EndNote (Recommended)
Search Google Scholar and import selected citations to EndNote
Search a library catalog or article database from within EndNote Desktop and add references that match search criteria
Add citations manually by typing information into the reference editor
Upload from your computer file manager a PDF article (or folder of PDF files) that has a doi (Digital Object Identifier) number within the first two pages

These methods are described in more detail below. Additional help is available from the EndNote training website:
http://endnote.com/training

Always double-check the accuracy of your references and citations. Edit those that imported with errors.

Library Databases - Direct Export To EndNote Desktop

Instructions for Direct Export from Library Article Databases

For many library databases, such as Web of Science or Academic Search Premier (EBSCO), selected (i.e., check-marked) references from search results can be directly exported from the database to EndNote. This document file provides specific instructions for direct export from some popular library article databases.

Google Scholar - Import to EndNote Desktop

How to Import Citations from Google Scholar
This document describes settings and procedures for importing citations from search results in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Setup

Setting up Google Scholar instructions
Instructions to add UW Libraries article links to the Google Scholar results page.

Upload PDF Files to Create References in EndNote Desktop

Import PDF Files as New Reference Records
A PDF file residing on a computer may be readily imported as a new reference record in EndNote Desktop. Multiple files can be imported at once from a computer folder.

Manual Entry & Editing in EndNote Desktop

Manual Entry & Editing
If none of the other methods of adding citations to EndNote Desktop work for an item, the information can be added manually.

The document above provides more detailed instructions.

An existing reference can also be manually edited to correct or add information.

Look for Common Error Types:

Missing Authors and/or Titles

Author names in Title fields

Formatting: italics, bold, sub/superscripts

Capitalization

Names of journals

Reference Type (resulting in missing & incorrect fields)

Abbreviations, truncations

Ask a Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Coe Library Help Desk: 307-766-3190

EndNote Desktop Training

The EndNote Training website provides training materials on EndNote Desktop, including training videos, getting started guides, quick reference and user guides, and a training calendar.

http://endnote.com/training